Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Athlete of the Year Nominees Announced

Orillia | by Ken Hashizume  

Six athletes are vying for the 2017 award.

Six athletes are in the running for the 2017 Orillia Athlete of the Year.
The deadline to submit a name was Noon Wednesday.
They are cyclist Ali Van Yzendoorn, hockey player Kyle Heitzner, cricket player Dipinekumar Patel, lacrosse players Michael Montgomery and Jack Marwick, and baseball player Ben Barzo.
A 10-member committee that includes Sunshine 89's Ken Hashizume will select a winner.
The winner will be announced prior to the start of the February 12th Orillia City Council meeting.
Past Athlete of the Year winners include 2016 winner lacrosse player Quintin Hoch-Bullen, former NHL player Ethan Moreau, figure skater Brian Orser, boxer Walter Henry, and broadcaster Bill Watters.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc