Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Minor Hockey Roundup

Regional | by Bayshore News Staff  

Garb & Gear Attack + OHL Cup Rankings


Minor Hockey

Minor Peewee

Owen Sound Garb & Gear Attack 4 Hespeler 0

Seth Stewart scored twice while  Nate Garrett and Will McMillan added singles for Garb & Gear.

Dundas Blues 3 Owen Sound Garb & Gear Attack 0

Owen Sound Garb & Gear Attack 4 Woolwich Wildcats 1

Morgan Armstrong scored twice while Seth Stewart and Duff McGrogan added singles.

OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour Minor Midget Top-10 Rankings

The Ontario Hockey League today announced the fifth edition of the weekly minor midget rankings for the 2018 OHL Cup Showcase
 Tournament powered by Under Armour and hosted by the Greater Toronto Hockey League.

The 2018 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour and hosted by the GTHL is scheduled for March 13-19 and will feature 20 teams from across Ontario and the United States showcasing many of the top players eligible for the 2018 OHL Priority Selection.  All games will be played at Scotiabank Pond in Toronto until the Championship Final moves to the Mattamy Athletic Centre on Monday March 19 where it will be broadcast nationally on Sportsnet.

The weekly rankings are determined by a panel of OHL Central Scouting staff and represent the top teams that are competing to play in the annual year-end championship tournament.

Minor Midget Rankings for the 2018 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour - Week 5

Toronto Marlboros
Oakville Rangers
Mississauga Reps
Vaughan Kings
Barrie Colts
Don Mills Flyers
Cambridge Hawks
Niagara North Stars
Detroit Little Caesars U15
York Simcoe Express

Honourable Mention:

Toronto Jr. Canadiens
Peterborough Petes
North Bay Trappers

This week the Mississauga Reps climb two spots while the Don Mills Flyers move up one spot as both GTHL clubs ride four-game winning-streaks.  The OMHA's York Simcoe Express also
 re-enter the rankings after a big win over the Barrie Colts who drop two spots to number five.

Tournament Structure:

16 of the 20 spots in the 2018 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour are guaranteed through league competition.
The 16 guaranteed spots continue to include all four GTHL Semi-Finalists, and the top four teams that place at the OMHA Championship.  Three teams from the ALLIANCE will still be guaranteed a spot in the tournament including the Champion and Finalist, along with the winner of a best-of-three Semi-Final Wild Card Series to be played between the losers of the two league Semi-Finals.  Also as in past years, two tournament entries are reserved for United States competition, while both an HNO and NOHA representative will also compete.  For the second straight season the final guaranteed spot will be awarded to HEO but represented by their previous year Bantam Championship team who will be reassembled for tournament competition.  This season, HEO's entry will be members of the 2017 Bantam Champion Ottawa Jr. 67's.

Wild Card Games:

The final four entries at the 2018 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour will be Wild Cards determined among eight teams that will play a one game 'win and in' scenario.  The eight competing teams
 aiming for the final four tournament spots will continue to include the fifth place team at the OMHA Championship, and the loser of the ALLIANCE Semi-Final Wild Card Series.  As introduced in 2016, two spots in Wild Card games will be reserved for GTHL teams.
 The two competing GTHL teams will be determined through a pair of Wild Card Play-In Series matchups involving the four GTHL teams who qualified for the playoffs but lost in the first round.  As introduced in 2017, one spot in a Wild Card will also be reserved
 for the winner of an OMHA SCTA Consolation Game that features both teams who lost in the SCTA Tournament Semi-Final.  The OMHA teams eligible for this matchup will be determined annually based on the league not hosting the OMHA Championship.  Finally, the three remaining teams who will compete in the Wild Card matchups will be named by the Tournament Selection Committee.  The Committee will evaluate and review a team's post-season success as the first criteria for selection, with additional criteria to include regular season play and tournament play.  All four Wild Card games will take place on Tuesday March 13 with specific matchups and times of play to be determined by random draw among the eight competing teams on Tuesday March 6.


Last season the Mississauga Reps captured their first OHL Cup title, defeating the Toronto Nationals 3-2 on Dennis Golovatchev's late game winner with nine seconds remaining in the third period.
 Current Kitchener Rangers forward Mike Petizian led the showcase with 13 points (5-8-13) in seven games to earn the Tim Adams Memorial Trophy as tournament MVP.

The 2017 OHL Priority Selection featured 15 players chosen in the first round who competed for the OHL Cup including Ryan Suzuki (London Jr. Knights - 1st overall Barrie Colts), Tag Bertuzzi
 (TPH Hockey - 2nd overall Guelph Storm), Brandon Coe (Toronto Nationals - 3rd overall North Bay Battalion), Nicholas Porco (Vaughan Kings - 4th overall Saginaw Spirit), Philip Tomasino (Mississauga Rebels - 5th overall Niagara IceDogs), Graeme Clarke (Toronto Marlboros - 6th overall Ottawa 67's), Blake Murray (Whitby Wildcats - 7th overall Sudbury Wolves), Jack Hughes (Toronto Marlboros - 8th overall Mississauga Steelheads), Jamieson Rees (Mississauga Reps - 9th overall Sarnia Sting), Ethan Keppen (Toronto Nationals - 10th overall Flint Firebirds), Connor McMichael (Ajax-Pickering Raiders - 11th overall Hamilton Bulldogs), Cody Morgan (Toronto Jr. Canadiens - 12th overall Kingston Frontenacs), Thomas Harley (Vaughan Kings - 14th overall Mississauga Steelheads), Nathan Staios (Vaughan Kings - 17th overall Windsor Spitfires) and Lucas Rowe (Mississauga Reps - 18th overall London Knights).

Notable OHL Cup graduates currently playing in the NHL include Travis Konecny (Elgin-Middlesex Chiefs/Philadelphia Flyers), Mitch Marner (Vaughan Kings/Toronto Maple Leafs), Connor McDavid (Toronto Marlboros/Edmonton Oilers), Max Domi (Don Mills Flyers/Arizona Coyotes), Sean Monahan (Mississauga Rebels/Calgary Flames), Taylor Hall (Greater Kingston Frontenacs/New Jersey Devils), Tyler Seguin (Toronto Nationals/Dallas Stars), John Tavares (Toronto Marlboros/New York Islanders), P.K Subban (Markham Islanders/Nashville Predators), and Steven Stamkos (Markham Waxers/Tampa Bay Lightning).

For more information, please visit


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc