Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Ontario Hockey League Awards Day

Toronto | by Bayshore News Staff  

Three Attack + McFadden & Peters To Be Saluted



Three members of the Owen Sound Attack will receive year end Ontario Hockey League awards at a ceremony in Toronto

Coach Ryan McGill is the Matt Leyden Trophy Winner as Coach of the Year.

Michael McNiven is the OHL Goaltender of the Year.

Plus, Nick Suzuki will receive the William Hanley Memorial Trophy as the Most Sportsmanlike Player.

Suzuki's younger brother, Ryan Suzuki who was selected 1st overall by the Barrie Colts will pick up the Jack Ferguson Award.

Kincardine native Garrett McFadden, the captain of the Guelph Storm, will be presented with the Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy as the Humanitarian of the Year.

2016-17 OHL Awards

Sasha Chmelevski (Ottawa 67’s) - Bobby Smith Trophy / Scholastic Player of the Year.

Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters) - Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy / Top Scorer and Red Tilson Trophy / Most Outstanding Player of the Year.

Stephen Gibson (Mississauga Steelheads) - Roger Neilson Memorial Award / Top Academic University Player.

Quinn Hanna (Guelph Storm) - Ivan Tennant Memorial Award / Top Academic High School Player.

Garrett McFadden (Guelph Storm) - Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy / Humanitarian of the Year.

Ryan McGill (Owen Sound Attack) - Matt Leyden Trophy / Coach of the Year.

Michael McNiven (Owen Sound Attack) - Goaltender of the Year.

Ryan Merkley (Guelph Storm) - Emms Family Award / Rookie of the Year.

Alex Peters (Flint Firebirds) – Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy.

Darren Raddysh (Erie Otters) - Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy / Top Overage Player of the Year and Max Kaminsky Trophy / Defenceman of the Year.

Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack) - William Hanley Memorial Trophy / Most Sportsmanlike Player.

Ryan Suzuki (Barrie Colts) - Jack Ferguson Award / 1st overall pick in OHL Priority Selection.


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc