Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Air Tech Rebels Blank Hanover

Regional | by Bayshore News Staff  

Bantam Hockey + OHL Cup Rankings


Minor Hockey


Chatsworth Air Tech Mechanical Rebels 4 Hanover Falcons 0.
Lawson Cumming recorded the shutout for Air Tech Mechanical

Rebels goals scored by Austin King, Austin McComb, Calvin Stewart and Mitchell Faust.

The Ontario Hockey League today announced the third edition of the weekly minor midget rankings for the 2017 OHL Cup Showcase
 Tournament powered by Under Armour and hosted by the Greater Toronto Hockey League.

The weekly rankings are determined by a panel of OHL Central Scouting Staff and represent the top teams that are competing to play in the
 annual year-end championship tournament which takes place March 14-20, 2017.  All games will be played at the Scotiabank Pond in Toronto until the Championship Final moves to the Mattamy Athletic Centre on Monday March 20.

Minor Midget Rankings for the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour - Week 3

1 London Jr. Knights
2 Mississauga Rebels
3 Mississauga Reps
4 Whitby Wildcats
5 Mississauga Senators
6 Toronto Marlboros
7 Toronto Young Nationals
8 Ajax-Pickering Raiders
9 Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs
10 Brampton 45's

Honourable Mention

Quinte Red Devils
Waterloo Wolves
Toronto Jr. Canadiens
Vaughan Kings

Tournament Structure:

16 of the 20 spots in the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour are guaranteed through league competition.
The 16 guaranteed spots continue to include all four GTHL Semi-Finalists, and the top four teams that place at the OMHA Championship.  Three teams from the ALLIANCE will still be guaranteed
 a spot in the tournament including the Champion and Finalist, along with the winner of a best-of-three Semi-Final Wild Card Series to be played between the losers of the two league Semi-Finals.  Also as in past years, two tournament entries are reserved for
 United States competition, while both an HNO and NOHA representative will also compete.  New in 2017, the final guaranteed spot is awarded to HEO but represented by their previous year Bantam Championship team who will be reassembled for tournament competition.
 This season, HEO's entry will be members of the 2016 Bantam Champion Eastern Ontario Wild.

Wild Card Games:

The final four entries at the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour will be Wild Cards determined among eight teams that will play a one game 'win and in' scenario.  The eight competing teams
 aiming for the final four tournament spots will continue to include the fifth place team at the OMHA Championship, and the loser of the ALLIANCE Semi-Final Wild Card Series.  As introduced in 2016, two spots in Wild Card games will be reserved for GTHL teams.
 The two competing GTHL teams will be determined through a pair of Wild Card Play-In Series matchups involving the four GTHL teams who qualified for the playoffs but lost in the first round.  One spot in a Wild Card will also be reserved for the winner of an
 OMHA SCTA Consolation Game that features both teams who lost in the SCTA Tournament Semi-Final.  The OMHA teams eligible for this matchup will be determined annually based on the league not hosting the OMHA Championship.  Finally, the three remaining teams
 who will compete in the Wild Card matchups will be named by the Tournament Selection Committee.  The Committee will evaluate and review a team's post-season success as the first criteria for selection, with additional criteria to include regular season play
 and tournament play.  All four Wild Card games will take place on Tuesday March 14 with specific matchups and times of play to be determined by random draw among the eight competing teams on Wednesday March 8.


Last season the York Simcoe Express captured their second OHL Cup title and first since 2004 with a 2-1 overtime win over the Toronto Marlboros.  Current North Bay Battalion rookie Rhys Forhan
 scored both Express goals, while goaltender Andrei Berezinskiy earned tournament MVP honours playing to a 5-0 record with a 2.09 goals-against-average.

The 2016 OHL Priority Selection featured 12 players chosen in the first round who competed in the OHL Cup including Ryan Merkley (Toronto Jr. Canadiens - 1st overall Guelph Storm),
 Owen Lalonde (Windsor Jr. Spitfires - 2nd overall Sudbury Wolves), Danil Antropov (Toronto Marlboros - 6th overall Oshawa Generals), Kirill Nizhnikov (Toronto Jr. Canadiens - 7th overall Mississauga Steelheads), Barrett Hayton
 (Toronto Red Wings - 9th overall Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds), Peter Stratis (Mississauga Rebels - 11th overall Ottawa 67's), Akil Thomas (Toronto Marlboros - 12th overall Niagara IceDogs), Adam McMaster (Niagara North - 13th
 overall North Bay Battalion), Tyler Weiss (Don Mills Flyers - 15th overall Sarnia Sting), Nathan Dunkley (Quinte Red Devils - 17th overall Kingston Frontenacs), Allan McShane (Toronto Marlboros - 19th overall Erie Otters),
 and Jack McBain (Don Mills Flyers - 20th overall Barrie Colts).

Notable OHL Cup graduates currently playing in the NHL include Mitch Marner (Vaughan Kings/Toronto Maple Leafs), Connor McDavid (Toronto Marlboros/Edmonton Oilers), Robby Fabbri (Mississauga
 Rebels/St. Louis Blues), Max Domi (Don Mills Flyers/Arizona Coyotes), Sean Monahan (Mississauga Rebels/Calgary Flames), Taylor Hall (Greater Kingston Frontenacs/New Jersey Devils), Tyler Seguin (Toronto Nationals/Dallas Stars), John Tavares (Toronto Marlboros/New
 York Islanders), P.K Subban (Markham Islanders/Nashville Predators), and Steven Stamkos (Markham Waxers/Tampa Bay Lightning).

This season the OHL and GTHL announced a new three-year partnership with Under Armour that includes title sponsorship of the OHL Cup Showcase Tournament.
The OHL and GTHL have also announced a five-year partnership extension ensuring the event will continue to be hosted by the GTHL through 2021.

For more information, please visit

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc