Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Monday, March 14, 2016

Hornets Champs Again

Penetanguishene | by Ken Hashizume  

Alliston beats Penetang for their 8th title in nine years; Gillham named playoff MVP.

For the eighth time in the last nine years the Alliston Hornets are champions of the Georgian Mid-Ontario league.

Jordan Schwartz's goal on a penalty shot midway through the second period was the eventual winner as the Hornets defeated the Penetang Kings 4-2 on Sunday for a four-game sweep of the league finals.
The Kings opened the scoring 8:57 into the 1st period on a goal by Brad Kuepfer for a 1-0 lead.
Devon Gillham tied it up for the Hornets on the power play 48 seconds later then Stephen Nosad scored with 63 seconds left to give Alliston a 2-1 lead after one period.
Down 3-1, Matt Meher got Penetang back to within one 5 minutes into the 3rd period but Nick Arcan replied with less than 6 minutes left to restore the two-goal lead.

An empty net goal by Arcan at the buzzer was later taken off.
Tyler Brindle made 30 saves for the Hornets while Andrew North stopped 29 for the Kings.
Alliston finished 1-for-4 on the power play, Penetang went 0-for-4.
Gillham was named playoff MVP with 16 goals and 26 points in 14 games.
The Hornets will take on the winner of the Western League final between the Kincardine Bulldogs and the Walkerton Hawks in the quarterfinal round of the Schmalz Cup all-Ontario playoffs.


Ken Hashizume has post-game interviews with Jordan Schwartz of the Hornets and Hayden Cole of the Kings. Click on the audio above to listen.

Hornets 4 Kings 2

Period 1
Penetang - Brad Kuepfer (Michael Paul, Cam Cochrane) 8:57
Alliston - Devon Gillham (power play) (Mitch Livingston, Brady Martin) 9:45
Alliston - Stephen Nosad (Brady Martin, Devon Gillham) 18:58

Period 2
Alliston - Jordan Schwartz (penalty shot) 3:34

Period 3
Penetang - Matt Meher (Craig Robinson, Nate Archer) 5:00
Alliston - Nick Arcan (Jacob Tuck) 15:57
share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc