Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, June 19, 2015

Hat Trick For Hunt

Owen Sound | by Fred Wallace  

Northmen Beat Birley In Junior B Lacrosse


Ontario Junior B Lacrosse

at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore Community Centre

Orangeville Northmen 8 Owen Sound NorthStars 6

Northmen 8 NorthStars 6

Peter Hunt led the Northmen with a hat trick as the Midwest Division leaders won their 15th of the year

Shane Hillis, Riley Armstrong, Trevor Smyth, Mike Sutton and Ben Anyon had single markers as Orangeville overcame a 3-2 deficit after 1 period and outscored the NorthStars 5-2 in the second period to pull away.

In spite of the loss, netminder Trace Birley was terrific in goal for the Garb & Gear-Coldwell Banker NorthStars making 45 saves, holding his team in the game for most of the evening

Orangeville outshot Owen Sound 53-30.

Jake McNabb scored 3 times for the NorthStars to give him 30 goals on the season.

Callup Quinton Maddock, Zac Coulter and Josh Deyell had single markers for Owen Sound who fall to 3-14 & 1 on the year and will miss the playoffs again this season.

Coulter had a 5 point game adding 4 assists.

Saturday night, the Garb & Gear-Coldwell Banker NorthStars will host the Welland Generals in Owen Sound's final home game of the season.

Following Saturday's game, the NorthStars will hold a " Meet and Greet " for the fans at the Bayshore.

Owen Sound's final game of the season is Sunday night at Guelph.


1st Period
Owen Sound NorthStars - Jake McNabb (Zac Coulter, Ben Watson) 1:45
Orangeville Northmen - Shane Hillis (Declan Lampe) 3:57
Owen Sound NorthStars - Quinton Maddock (Zac Coulter, Drew Quinlan) 9:47
Orangeville Northmen - Riley Armstrong (Ben Mercey, Cameron Spencer) 14:08
Owen Sound NorthStars - Jake McNabb (Quinton Maddock, Zac Coulter) 17:49

2nd Period
Orangeville Northmen - Peter Hunt (Mike Sutton) 0:25
Orangeville Northmen - Trevor Smyth (Peter Hunt, Randy Black) 6:52
Orangeville Northmen - Peter Hunt (Trevor Smyth) 7:58
Orangeville Northmen - Mike Sutton (Todd Greer) 13:42
Owen Sound NorthStars - Zac Coulter (powerplay) (Josh Deyell, Ben Watson) 15:56
Owen Sound NorthStars - Jake McNabb (Garrett Ramsay) 16:52
Orangeville Northmen - Peter Hunt (Jeff Brett, Mike Sutton) 18:02

3rd Period
Owen Sound NorthStars - Josh Deyell (Garrett Ramsay, Zac Coulter) 13:52
Orangeville Northmen - Ben Anyon AP (Jeff Brett) 16:37

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc