Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Eagles, Rigney Named All Stars

Richmond Hill | by Bayshore News Staff  

Two Grey Bruce players named to OMHA Midget All Star Game on January 26th

The Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) is pleased to announce the rosters for the Midget AAA All-Star game featuring forty of the top Midget players in the OMHA at the Seymour Hannah Sports Complex, St. Catharines January 26th at 1:10PM. Players are selected from both AAA Leagues: South Central AAA (SCTA) and Eastern AAA (ETA).

The Midget All-Star event provides the OMHA the opportunity to recognize and highlight the talents of Midget players and coaches.

It also provides an opportunity for the OMHA to actively interact with the players and their families. 

The participating clubs from the Eastern Triple A League (ETA) are the Central Ontario Wolves, Peterborough Minor Petes, Quinte Red Devils, Kingston Junior Frontenacs, Barrie Junior Colts, Ajax-Pickering Raiders, Markham Waxers, Clarington Toros, North Central Predators, South Central Coyotes, Oshawa Generals, Whitby Wildcats, and the York Simcoe Express.

The participating clubs from the South Central Triple A League (SCTA) are Oakville Rangers, Halton Hills Hurricanes, Grey-Bruce Highlanders, Brampton 45s, Burlington Eagles, Niagara North Stars, Guelph Storm, and the Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs.      

Top prospects include Saginaw Spirit 2012 priority draft selection, TJ Melancon (Oshawa Minor Generals), London Knights pick, Ryan Taylor (Clarington Toros), Ottawa 67’s prospect, Stephen Jablonski (Burlington Eagles), Guelph Storm pick, Griffin Heitshu (Guelph Jr. Storm) and Sault Ste. Marie Grey Hounds prospects, Patrick Desjardins (Niagara North Stars) and Brandon Hughes (Oakville Rangers).

“Midget hockey is among the most exciting hockey to watch," said OMHA President Joyce Junker. "All-Star games such as these provide great opportunities to see the top Midget players recognized by their respective leagues all under one roof."

The ETA are the defending champions of this event and have a record of 10-3 since 2000.


# POS Last Name First Team

D Spencer Brendan Barrie
D McLean Mackenzie Markham
D Melancon TJ Oshawa
D Mazurek Alex South Central
D McAuliffe Patrick Whitby
D Williams Eric York Simcoe
F Alexiou Andreas Ajax/Pickering
F Marchmant Mason Central Ontario
F Taylor Ryan Clarington
F Jodoin Cody Kingston
F Hu Sammy Markham
F Lawlor Marty North Central
F Middaugh Kevin Oshawa
F Hilker Brett  Peterborough
F Steeves Riley Quinte
F Defazio Chris South Central
F O'Connell Riley Whitby
F Crescenzi JP York Simcoe
G Kestin Trent Markham
G Ouellet Matthew Whitby


# POS Last Name First Team
D Desjardins Patrick Niagara North
D Justin Whitwell Hamilton
D Jablonski Stephen Burlington
D Paul Willy Burlington
D Whitwell Jeff Halton
D Difonzo Christian Oakville
F Parisotto Jacob Niagara North
F Werner  Mike Burlington
F Hatten Miller Burlington
F Ferguson Rourke Halton
F Glynn Jonathan Brampton
F Eagles Brandon Grey Bruce
F Rigney Colin Grey Bruce
F Meuller Viktor Oakville
F George Colin Oakville
F Riche Alex Oakville
F Hughes Brandon Oakville
F Heitshu Griffin Guelph
G Mathieu Mitchell Burlington
G Astorino Josh Halton 

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc