Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Attack Name Captains

Owen Sound | by Bayshore News Staff  

OHL Champion Attack name Halmo Captain, Schemitsch and Maidens are Assistants.

Michael Halmo Named Eighteenth Captain in Franchise History

The Owen Sound Attack is pleased to announce that they have named forward Michael Halmo the eighteenth Captain in Owen Sound Franchise History. Halmo, an overage forward from Waterloo has spent the past three seasons with the Attack, with the upcoming season being his overage year. In three seasons with the Attack, the 5’11, 195lb forward has amassed 36 goals and 44 assists to go along with 332 penalty minutes in 181 regular season games played. Halmo also picked up 15 points in 22 playoff games last Spring.

“I am extremely proud to be named the Captain of this years squad.”, stated Halmo. “This is a great organization and I am very honored to have my name associated with all of the organizations past Captains.”

In addition to naming Halmo as the Attack’s new Captain, the team has also issued Assistant Captaincy to defenseman Geoffrey Schemitsch and sophomore forward Jarrod Maidens.

Schemitsch is entering his third season with the Attack and has tallied 5 goals and 55 assists in 107 regular season games. The Tampa Bay Lightning pick also had 1 goal and 10 assists in 20 playoff games last season. Maidens, 17, picked up 10 goals and 11 assists in 47 games played last season, plus another 6 goals and 4 assists in 22 playoff games.

“We are extremely confident in the leadership abilities of all three young men.”, stated Attack Head Coach Greg Ireland. “ In addition to Michael, Geoffrey and Jarrod, there is a number of other players we will look to for leadership of this young squad.”

Below is a list of all Captains in Owen Sound franchise history.

Other News:     - Forward Daniel Catenacci has been returned to the Attack from the Buffalo Sabres and will be in the lineup tonight

- The Attack has released sophomore defenseman Greg Staeger. Staeger is expected to join the London Nationals Junior “B” Hockey Club. The Attack wish to thank Greg for his service and wish him nothing but the best moving forward with his career.

Mike Speer: 1989-1991

Kirk Maltby: 1991-1992

Rick Morton: 1992-1993

Jeff Kostuch: 1993-1995

Jason Campbell: 1995-1996

Kurt Walsh: 1996-1997

Dan Snyder: 1997-1999

Wes Goldie: 1999-2000

Dave Stephenson: 2000

Kyle McAllister: 2000-2001

Mike Jacobsen: 2001-2002

Patrick Jarrett: 2002-2005

Bobby Ryan: 2005-2007

Scott Tregunna: 2007

David Kolomatis: 2007-2009

Marcus Carroll: 2009-2010

Garrett Wilson: 2010-2011

Michael Halmo: 2011 - Present


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc