Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, June 3, 2011

DeGray Named OHL Executive of Year

Owen Sound | by Bayshore News Staff  

Attack GM In Spotlight


Dale DeGray Named OHL Executive of the Year 

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Owen Sound Attack General Manager Dale DeGray is the OHL Executive of the Year for the 2010-11 season. 

DeGray built the most successful Attack team in franchise history winning their first Robertson Cup with a seven-game series win over the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors and earning a berth in the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup.  Along the way the club also claimed their first Wayne Gretzky Trophy as Western Conference Champions, and finished the regular season with a franchise-best record of 46-17-1-4 for 97 points as Midwest Division Champions representing a 35-point increase in the standings from the 2009-10 season.

“As an organization, we are extremely proud that Dale DeGray has received this prestigious honor,” said Attack President Dr. Robert Severs.  “This award is a direct reflection of the hard work and dedication that he has put forth in helping the Owen Sound Attack win the 2011 Ontario Hockey League Championship. Through drafting and very astute trades, Dale assembled a group of young men that truly defined the word “team”. Along with the coaching and training staff, Dale instilled a culture within our organization that will lead us down a successful path for years to come.”

Off the ice, the Owen Sound Attack sold out the J.D. McArthur Arena fifteen straight games, including eleven home playoff dates from March 12th to the end of their OHL Championship run. During the 2010/2011 season, the Attack paid homage to the 1951 Allan Cup Champion Owen Sound Mercury’s, honoring past players and their families while wearing the blue, white and red of the former Owen Sound Senior Men’s Team. The Attack organization also set new highs in Merchandise and Sponsorship sales while developing a grassroots Anti-Bullying program that was delivered in over thirty-five area schools.

DeGray, a 47-year-old from Oshawa, ON, has been the Attack General Manager since July of 2007 after spending five years as an amateur scout with the Florida Panthers.  As a player, he competed in three OHL seasons for his hometown Generals winning an OHL Championship in 1983.  He was selected 162nd overall by the Calgary Flames in the 1981 NHL Entry Draft and went on to play 153 NHL games scoring 18 goals and 47 assists and played professionally in the AHL and IHL for 14 years.  He also spent two seasons as a coach/GM with the United Hockey League’s Rockford IceHogs. 

DeGray was also recently inducted into the Oshawa Sports Hall of Fame as part of their class of 2011. 

The OHL Executive of the Year Award is presented annually to the executive whose team demonstrates success both on the ice and at the administration level through excellent organization and franchise success.  The winner is selected by the League’s Executive Council.   

DeGray is the second member of the Attack to win this award following former Attack General Manager Michael Futa who earned the honour in 2004-05.  Other recipients of the award include Craig Goslin of the Saginaw Spirit who won the award back-to-back in 2005-06 and 2006-07, followed by Denise Burke of the Niagara IceDogs in 2007-08, Warren Rychel of the Windsor Spitfires in 2008-09, and Rick Gaetz of the Guelph Storm who was last year’s recipient. 

The OHL’s Executive of the Year Award will be formally presented to Dale DeGray at the league’s annual award ceremony at the Hockey Hall of Fame on Wednesday June 8, 2011. 


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc