Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Minor Hockey Results

Owen Sound & area | by Bayshore News Staff



For the second consecutive playoff series, the Saugeen Maitland Midget Lightning AA's had to battle back from elimination to continue their playoff run in Southwest Lower Lakes League postseason play.  In the deciding match versus the Bluewater Hawks on Sunday, the Lightning pulled out a 3-2 win.  This left both teams at 3 points as each team had a win and a tie.  Playoff format require a 5 minute sudden death extra period followed by a shootout to determine a champion.  In extra time, neither team could score and following the first three shooters they were still tied.  It was rookie, Brooklyn Irwin who played the hero when she scored on her shootout attempt to lead the Lightning to the division championship.  Goaltender, Stephanie Sluys had stopped the final 3 Bluewater shooters to preserve the win for Saugeen while Gina Murray also scored for the Lightning in the opening round of the shootout.

The Lightning will now advance to the Championship weekend tournament in Oshawa on April 3rd where they will play against the other three division winners to determine the overall Lower Lakes Champion.  Saugeen will represent the Southwest Division and face the Ontario Central West winners, St. Catharines Chaos.  In the other semi final, the Toronto Aeros will play the Eastern Ontario Champion Belleville Bearcats. 

Scoring for the Lightning in the playoff series versus Bluewater was Brooklyn Irwin, Brittany Butcher, Laura Irwin and Laken Smith while assists were awarded to Butcher (2), Sara Gossell, Marcie Landman, Gina Murray, Georgian Ottewell and Laura Irwin.



Georgian Bay Peewee Consolation Championship

Owen Sound Hyundai Attack 4 Midland 3

Trent Duncan scored assisted by Dustin Lantz

Trent Duncan scored assisted by Dylan Williams and Nick Kazarian

Kwyn Acton scored unassisted

AJ Kosemple scored assisted by Liam McManaman and Jacob Bartley

Hyundai wins the series 3-0 


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc