Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Bayshore Broadcasting Morning Sports

Regional | by Fred Wallace  

Mar 29, 2011


Ontario Hockey League Playoffs

Western Conference Quarterfinals

Kitchener Rangers 3 Plymouth Whalers 1

Ryan Murphy scored the game winner on a power-play and Brandon Maxwell had a 35 save performance in goal for the Rangers

Plymouth leads the best of 7; 2-1


Guelph Storm 7 Saginaw Spirit 3

Taylor Beck scored twice for Guelph who lead the series 2 games to 1.

Michael Latta continues his strong post season, picking up 3 points for the Storm


Windsor Spitfires 6 Erie Otters 2

The Spitifres exploded for 3 goals in a 62 second span early in the 3rd Period to bust open a tight game.

Jack Campbell made 30 saves for Windsor who have won 2 in a row and lead the best of 7; 2-1


Eastern Conference Quarterfinal

Sudbury Wolves 5 Ottawa 67's 3

Former Owen Sound Attack forward Mike Lomas scored for Sudbury who lead the series 2-0

Game stories & more are posted under " Latest Sports Stories "



Ontario Hockey League Playoffs Tonight

Western Conference Quarterfinal

London Knights at Owen Sound Attack

The best of 7 is tied 1-1

Game time is 7 pm at the Harry Lumley-Bayshore

Following the game, join Rico Zorzati for the Bear's Den at Shorty's Classic Grill on CFOS


Attck Pak

The Owen Sound Attack Pak is heading to London on Thursday night for Game 4 of the playoff series against the Knights.

There are seats available on the bus for fans interested in going to the game at the John Labatt Centre.

To book your seat, or for more information, see the Attack Pak at their booth on Tuesday night during Game 3 or call Helen at 934-2318



Ontario Junior C Quarterfinal

Belle River Canadiens 5 Wheatley Sharks 2

Belle River leads the best of 7; 3-1

Wednesday, the Walkerton Hawks host the Alliston Hornets in Game 4 of their Quarterfinal

Alliston leads the best of 7; 2-1

Game time tomorrow is 8:30 pm at the Walkerton Community Arena


Team Rockstar Energy Polaris Racing's Iain Hayden wrapped up the CSRA Ontario Provincial Pro Open Snowcross Championship at Kitchener with podium finishes on Saturday and Sunday.
Hayden, who is from Holland Center,  led the provincial points chase all season.


NLL Trip

A bus trip has been organized to see the Toronto Rock game on Saturday April 8th against the Buffalo Bandits.

Two coaches coaches will going, departing from Wiarton at 3 pm with a pick up in Owen Sound

The cost of the trip & game ticket is $ 60

To book your seat, or for more information, call Chris at 519-534-5413



Blue Water Farmer's Bonspiel

The Jim Irons rink won the Tannahill Family Trophy

The Irons rink includes Bob Chisholm, Bob McKenzie & Wayne Duquette

The Jean Walker rink won the Carl Morrison Memorial Trophy


Wall Tech Curling

at the Grey Granite Club:

Fred Ruddle 10 Gary Adams 7

Fred Parsons 8 Rob Lipka 2

Bob Morrison 9 Richard Graham 8

Gord Kletzel 9 Andrew Smith 2

Wayne McDonald 9 Jim Gardhouse 4

Wayne McDonald along with Torben Hawksbridge, Dennis Grummett and Bruce Jobe finished first to win the Wall Tech Drywall Trophy.

Bob Morrison, Doug Bumstead, Jim McGill and John Anderson were the runners-up.

The Wayne McDouald rink will play Gord Kletzel's First Draw team of Dave Smith, Dennis Grummett and Rick Calder, tomorrow night at 7 pm for the Men's Club Championship.


Western Regional Novice Ringette

at Guelph
Championship Final

St Mary's 8 Owen Sound Bayshore Skate Sharpening Extreme 2



Minor Hockey

Southwest Lower Lakes League Girls

Saugeen Maitland Lightning 3 Bluewater Hawks 2

Brooklyn Irwin scored on her shootout attempt to lead the Lightning to the division championship. 

The Lightning will now advance to the Championship weekend tournament in Oshawa on April 3rd

Georgian Bay Peewee Consolation Championship

Owen Sound Hyundai Attack 4 Midland 3

Trent Duncan scored twice for Hyundai who swept the series 3 games to none



Kick It Up Dance Competition

at Blue Mountain Resort

Dancemakers of Owen Sound won 11 awards

Among the Group awards the Novice Ballet Small Group & Novice Acro Small Group finished first overall.

Abby Moore & Anna Beckett received Gold standings for their performances




share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc