Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, March 25, 2011

CIS Hockey Awards

Toronto | by Bayshore News Staff  

Former Attack Members Conway & Carter Named To All Stars


CHL Grads Well Represented at CIS Awards and University Cup

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League is proud to announce that all seven recipients of Canadian Interuniversity Sport All-Canadian Awards and 100% of the All-Canadian and All-Rookie Teams for the 2010-11 season are graduates of the CHL, including CIS Player of the Year Alexandre Picard-Hooper of McGill University who played with Baie-Comeau and Saint John from 2004-08. 

In addition, 107 CHL graduates are competing among the six teams in contention for the 2011 University Cup Championship which begins today in Fredericton, NB, representing close to 70% of all players.

Scholarship Programs throughout the CHL are funded by the member clubs of the Western Hockey League, the Ontario Hockey League, and the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.  One year of college or university tuition and books is offered for each year of CHL play. In 2009/10 $4.45 million in scholarships was awarded to more than 1,000 players.

For more information about the scholarship programs and education policies in each of the three regional leagues as well as the recently launched CHL Champions Program please visit


Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy (player of the year): Alexandre Picard-Hooper, McGill (Baie-Comeau/Saint John)
Defenceman of the year: Andrew Hotham, Saint Mary's (Barrie/Erie/Saginaw)
Goaltender of the year: Dustin Butler, Calgary (Portland/Kamloops/Prince Albert)
Clare Drake Award (rookie of the year): Jason Bast, St. Francis Xavier (Moose Jaw)
R.W. Pugh Award (most sportsmanlike player): Chris Ray, Waterloo (Kelowna)
Father George Kehoe Memorial Award (presented by Coaches of Canada): Mark Howell, Calgary (Seattle)
Dr. Randy Gregg Award (student-athlete / community service): Eric Hunter, Alberta (Prince George)


First Team

Pos. - Athlete - University – (CHL Clubs)

G Dustin Butler Calgary (Portland/Kamloops/Prince Albert)
D Marc-André Dorion McGill (Baie-Comeau)
D Andrew Hotham Saint Mary's (Barrie/Erie/Saginaw)
F Alexandre Picard-Hooper McGill (Baie-Comeau/Saint John)
F Derek Ryan Alberta (Spokane)
F Hunter Tremblay UNB (Barrie)

Second Team

G Neil Conway Saint Mary's (Owen Sound/Oshawa)
D Kyle Fecho Alberta (Regina/Seattle/Moose Jaw)
D Kyle Sonnenburg Waterloo (Belleville/Brampton)
F Chad Klassen Alberta (Spokane/Saskatoon)
F Chris Ray Waterloo (Kelowna)
F Matt Carter UPEI (Owen Sound)

All-Rookie Team

G Matthew Dopud Carleton (Saint John/Rouyn-Noranda/Rimouski)
D Christopher Owens Acadia (PEI)
D Jeremy Schappert Manitoba (Seattle)
F Johnny Lazo Alberta (Tri-City)
F Luc-Olivier Blain Ottawa (Chicoutimi)
F Jason Bast StFX (Moose Jaw)


Alberta Golden Bears – 23 CHL Grads:

Drew Nichol – Edmonton
Zack Dailey – Everett
Jason Fransoo – Everett
Matt Meropoulis – Everett
Alex Rodgers Kamloops
Colin Joe - Kelowna
Ian Barteaux – Kootenay
Jesse Craige – Lethbridge
Sean Ringrose – Medicine Hat
Kyle Fecho - Moose Jaw              
Real Cyr –Prince George
Kurtis Mucha – Portland
Greg Gardner – Prince George
Eric Hunter – Prince George
Linden Rowat – Regina
Michael MacAngus – Saskatoon
Lindsay Nielsen – Seattle
Chad Klassen – Spokane
Derek Ryan – Spokane
J.P. Szaszkiewicz – Spokane
Johnny Lazo – Tri-City
Jarrett Toll – Tri-City
Mitch Czibere – Vancouver


Calgary Dinos – 14 CHL Grads:

Teegan Moore – Brandon
Ryan Gillen – Calgary
Torrie Wheat – Everett
Reid Jorgensen – Kamloops
Brock Nixon – Kamloops
Kris Lazaruk – Kootenay
Jarrid Sauer – Medicine Hat
Dustin Butler – Portland
Tyler Swystun – Portland
Luke Egener – Red Deer
Eric Frere – Red Deer
Spencer Fraipont – Regina
Colton MacPherson – Saskatoon
Brett Bartmen – Spokane


McGill Redmen – 14 CHL Grads:

Vincent Bourgeois - Montreal
Marc-André Daneau - Lewiston
Marc-André Dorion – Baie-Comeau
Guillaume Doucet – Rouyn-Noranda/PEI
Keven Dupont – Baie-Comeau/Rimouski/Victoriaville
Hubert Genest - Montreal
Maxime Langelier-Parent – St. John’s/Gatineau
Benoit Lévesque - Drummondville
Ryan McKiernan - Drummondville
Alexandre Picard-Hooper – Saint John
Christophe Poirier - Quebec
Antoine Tardif – Acadie-Bathurst/Drummondville/Quebec
Stephen Valente - Drummondville
Francis Verreault-Paul – Chicoutimi


St FX X-Men – 19 CHL Grads:

Scott Brannon - Moncton
Murdoch MacLellan – Cape Breton
Phil Mangan – St. Johns
Brett Morrison – Rouyn-Noranda
Bryce Swan – Halifax

Mark Louis - Brandon
Brett Robertson – Medicine Hat
Kevin Undershute – Medicine Hat
Jason Bast –Moose Jaw
Joey Perricone – Moose Jaw
Brennan Wray  – Moose Jaw
Derek Claffey – Swift Current
Spencer McAvoy– Swift Current

Matt Bragg – Barrie

Nick Pageau – Belleville

Josh Day – Brampton

Phil Mangan – Kingston

Chris Hulit – Oshawa

Robbie Lawrence – Ottawa


University of New Brunswick Varsity Reds – 21 CHL Grads

Travis Fullerton – Saint John
Marc-Antoine Desnoyers – Rouyn-Noranda/Acadie-Bathurst/Drummondville
Luke Gallant – Rouyn-Noranda/Moncton
Spencer Corcoran – Cape Breton
Nick MacNeil – Cape Breton
Jordan Clendenning – Acadie-Bathurst/Cape Breton
Nick Layton – St. John’s/Montreal
Joshua Hepditch - Moncton
Ryan Seymour – Acadie-Bathurst/Halifax
Chris Culligan – Cape Breton

Jeff Lee – Edmonton
Jonathan Harty –Everett
Ben Wright –Lethbridge
Daine Todd –Medicine Hat
Kyle Bailey –Portland/Lethbridge
Bretton Stamler –Seattle
Derek Yeomans –AB – Seattle
Taylor Procyshen – Tri-City

Hunter Tremblay – Barrie

Luke Lynes – Brampton

Ben Shutron – Kingston/Kitchener/Windsor


Western Ontario Mustangs – 16 CHL Grads

Yashar Farmanara – Lethbridge
Kyle Lamb – Vancouver

Jason Swit – Cape Breton/PEI
Geoff Killing – Belleville

Aaron Snow – Brampton/Belleville/Windsor/Niagara/Sarnia

Adam Nemeth – London/Kingston

Julian Cimadamore – Kitchener

Shaun Furlong – Kitchener

Josh Unice – Kitchener/Windsor

Scott Aarssen – London

Brandon Greenside – Guelph/Sudbury/London

Anthony Grieco – Mississauga

Kevin Baker – Owen Sound/Sudbury/Oshawa

Steve Reese – Sarnia/Sudbury

Keaton Turkiewicz – Sudbury/Windsor/Belleville

Matt Paltridge - Windsor



share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc