Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Bayshore Broadcasting Morning Sports

Regional | by Fred Wallace  

Mar 15, 2011


Hishon Signs

The Colorado Avalanche of the NHL signed Owen Sound Attack center Joey Hishon to an entry-level contract.

Hishon has 83 points on the year for the Attack in spite of missing significant time, first to injuries and second to suspension

With the Attack, Hishon has scored 109 goals over 4 seasons

In the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, Hishon was selected 17th overall by Colorado


OHL Awards

Christian Thomas of the Oshawa Generals is the OHL Player of the Week

Thomas, the son of former NHL'er Steve Thomas, led the league with 9 points in 3 games, scoring 6 goals

Jordan Binnington is the Becker Shoes Attacker of the Week

Binnington stopped 74 of 79 shots in 2 key road starts at Windsor and at Kitchener last week.

He was selected as the first star in the pivotal game at Kitchener which was essentially a showdown for the Midwest Division and Western Conference title

The Attack host Plymouth tomorrow night at 7 pm in the JD McArthur Arena on the final Mercury's Night of the regular season



Midwestern Junior B Playoffs

Listowel Cyclones 5 Stratford Cullitons 1

Brett Catto scored what stood as the game winner for the Cyclones on a power play early in the 2nd Period.

Listowel wins the best of 7; 4 games to 3 & now advances to the semifinals against the Guelph Hurricanes

The game summary from last night is posted under " Latest Sports Stories "



Georgian MidOntario Junior C Championship Series

Stayner Siskins at Alliston Hornets

Alliston leads the best of 7; 3 games to 1

Game time tonight is 7:30 at the New Tecumseh rec Centre

If the Siskins win to stay alive in the series, Game 6 would be Thursday night in Stayner


The Western Junior C Championship Series resumes Friday night at Walkerton

The Hawks trail Mitchell 3 games to 1 in the best of 7 Final



Wall-Tech Men's Curling

at the Grey Granite Club

Wayne McDonald 9 John Hopper 3

Jim Gardhouse 11 Richard Graham 5

Gord Kletzel 11 Fred Parsons 6

Andrew Smith 10 Bob Morrison 2

Fred Ruddle 8 Rob Lipka 0


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc