Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

Bruce County and Area Municipalities Declare State of Emergency

Grey Bruce | by Megan Johnson  

Bruce County, West Grey, South Bruce Peninsula, Huron-Kinloss and Brockton have all declared

An updated version of this story can be found here:

Bruce County, Brockton, Northern Bruce Peninsula, Arran-Elderslie, South Bruce Peninsula, Saugeen Shores, Huron-Kinloss, West Grey, South Bruce and Saugeen First Nation have each declared a State of Emergency in response to COVID-19.

This comes on the heels of a 4th case of COVID-19 being identified in Grey Bruce by the Grey Bruce Health Unit.

Bruce County Warden Mitch Twolan says the decision to declare a State of Emergency is not taken lightly.

"Bruce County is being proactive in our fight against COVID-19 to protect the health and safety of individuals, families."

Declarations of emergency are made under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act when an emergency requires immediate action to prevent, reduce or mitigate a danger of major proportions.

Twolan says,"Bruce County will now have additional tools and resources to coordinate and mobilize quickly. We will also have the flexibility to re-deploy staff, if required. I want to emphasize that this is a precautionary step at the time. None of these actions are necessary now.

As of Tuesday, the Grey Bruce Health Unit says in total 153 negative tests results have come in.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc