Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Meaford Declaring Climate Crisis

Meaford | by Cody Misner  

The motion was carried by a vote of 4-1.

Meaford will soon join other municipalities in declaring a Climate Crisis.  

Meaford Council received a motion from Councillor Steven Bartley to make the declaration on Monday night.  

Bartley's motion asks staff to bring back a report outlining measures that can be taken within municipal operations to combat climate change.  

Meaford already has an Energy Conservation and Demand Management Plan that aims to reduce municipal consumption of fuels and electricity in all municipal operations by an average of 1.5% per year between January 1, 2019 and December 31st, 2023 for a total of 7.5 per cent.  

Many municipalities throughout Grey Bruce have already made this declaration in the hopes of sending a message to the provincial and federal governments.  

Areas like Collingwood, Grey Highlands and Georgian Bluffs are just a few communities from throughout Ontario who have taken similar action in recent months.

Bartley's motion did not come without criticism however, fellow Councillor Harley Greenfield adopted a stance he referred to as "his old white male hat," where he agreed that climate change was a reality but disagreed with the wording of the motion.

"I fully accept climate change," states Greenfield "but I can not accept that we are in a climate crisis or climate emergency."

He went on to say that larger emission contributors like China, India and the USA are causing the problems.

Greenfield did state however that Canada should do what it can to lower emissions.

Bartley was firm on the wording of this motion saying "I agree with the terminology in this report, if we do one little thing over this I will be happy."

According to the motion, copy of the resolution will be sent to the Premier of Ontario, the Ontario Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks and Minister of Government and Consumer Services, the Association of Municipalities Ontario, MPP Bill Walker, and MP Alex Ruff.

The motion was carried by a vote of 4-1. 

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc