Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, June 21, 2019

Huron-Bruce MPP Thompson On Cabinet Shuffle

Huron-Bruce | by Cody Misner  

Thompson calls her new Ministry of Government & Consumer Services the "backbone of government."

Premier Doug Ford has made some changes to his cabinet.

He's also added five new associate ministers.

One of those is Bruce Grey Owen Sound MPP Bill Walker. He is now Associate Minister of Energy.

Huron Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson is no longer Minister of Education. She takes over Bill Walker's role as Minister of Government and Consumer Services.

Thompson's first year in the position saw some public backlash over changes to the OSAP program, replacing the sex ed curriculum and more cuts to education that would see larger class sizes and mandatory online classes for high school students. The new Minister of Education is King-Vaughan MPP Stephen Lecce.

The change, for Thompson is being called a demotion by some media outlets.

She firmly disagrees, saying "Not at all, Ontarians need to be proud of the achievements that Premier Ford and his team of cabinet ministers as well as caucus achieved this past year."

Thompson describes her new ministry as "the backbone of government."

She feels that her experience in modernizing education will greatly benefit her in her new role, "The government side, which is essentially the machinery when it comes down to property, real estate, IT systems, and then we have the consumer side which is all about servicing the people and servicing Ontario to ensure that we make life easier and simpler across the province."

Meanwhile, Lisa MacLeod becomes Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport after struggles with the autism file as minister of Children, Community and Social Services.

Finance Minister Vic Fedeli is now Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade and Chair of Cabinet

And the New Finance Minister is Rod Philips.

Caroline Mulroney is no longer Attorney General, she is now Minister of Transportation.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc