Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Outgoing Owen Sound Deputy Mayor, Councillors Honoured

Owen Sound | by Matt Hermiz  

Arlene Wright, Jim McManaman and Peter Lemon recognized in special tribute as term comes to end

Owen Sound city council has held its final meeting of the 2014-18 term.

And with it came the end to the tenures of three longtime public servants.

Deputy Mayor Arlene Wright, as well as councillors Peter Lemon and Jim McManaman were thanked for their service in a special tribute at Monday's Owen Sound council meeting.

Wright is retiring from municipal politics, McManaman chose against seeking office again, and Lemon was defeated in October’s municipal election.

Former city manager Craig Curtis, former mayor Ruth Lovell Stanners and former councillor Dick Hibma offered personal speeches both via video and in-person to Lemon, Wright and McManaman respectively.

Wright served 14 years as a councillor and deputy mayor in Owen Sound. She also served as Grey County warden in 2010 and 2011 and was the first elected to do so from Owen Sound.

"The tribute tonight has made me feel very humble," Wright says. "To have all my family here was a bit of a shock, cause I had no idea they we're going to be here."

Lemon was a city councillor for 28 years. He was first elected in 1985 and aside from a short break to attend school he served every term since.

"I'm very appreciative of the recognition I received but sad to be leaving the position," Lemon explains. "But, the people have spoken. And that's the way it works."

McManaman spent 15 years as a councillor in Owen Sound and says it's a bittersweet moment to be moving on.

"15 years is a long time," he says. "There's a lot of projects, a lot of accomplishments. A bit melancholy to be bringing it to an end. But, I'm looking forward to the future and quite certain the city is in good hands moving forward."

The first meeting of the next council term will be on Dec. 3 at the Roxy Theatre.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc