Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Suzuki Wins Second Straight William Hanley Trophy

Owen Sound | by Matt Hermiz  

Attack forward joins exclusive list of back-to-back winners

(Courtesy: OHL Images) 

Owen Sound Attack forward Nick Suzuki was named the winner of the William Hanley Trophy as the Ontario Hockey League's Most Sportsmanlike Player for the 2017-18 season.

Suzuki earns the nod for a second straight year after finishing fourth in league scoring with 100 points -- 42 goals and 58 assists.

The Vegas Golden Knights prospect did it with just 18 penalty minutes, second fewest among the OHL's top-10 scorers.

"It's an honour to win this award for the second year in a row," Suzuki says. "I couldn't do it without the support of teammates, coaches and family."

Suzuki had only three minor penalties over the final 38 games of the regular season.

The 18-year-old centre becomes the fourth player in OHL history to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

"For any player to win an OHL award two years in a row is extremely impressive," says Attack general manager Dale DeGray. "The entire organization couldn't be prouder of Nick and what he's been able to accomplish in his three years in the league."

The William Hanley Trophy is awarded annually based on a selection by the OHL's 20 general managers.

Suzuki narrowly edged out Barrie Colts forward Aaron Luchuk, who led the OHL in scoring, for the honour.

Past back-to-back winners of the William Hanley Trophy include:

-Dale McCourt (Hamilton and St. Catharines 1976 and 1977)
-Sean Simpson (Ottawa 1979 and 1980)
-Brad Boyes (Erie 2001 and 2002)

Suzuki will formally receive the trophy at the 2017-18 OHL Awards Ceremony June 6 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

He is the OHL's nominee again for CHL Sportsman of the Year -- an honour Suzuki won last season.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc