Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, April 21, 2017

Commemorating 150 Years of Bruce County

Saugeen Shores | by Craig Power  

A sugar maple tree was planted in Port Elgin Friday, along with other Bruce County Municipalities.

Saugeen Shores Mayor, Mike Smith, at the Bruce County 150th commemorative tree planting in Port Elgin on Friday, April 21st, 2017. (Photo © Craig Power, 2017) 
In celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the County of Bruce, a number of trees have been planted simultaneously in communities and municipalities throughout Bruce County.
In Saugeen Shores, a new sugar maple tree was planted in the green space outside the Police Station in Port Elgin on Friday (April 21st. 2017) morning.
Saugeen Shores Mayor, Mike Smith, tells 98 The Beach & Bayshore Broadcasting News, the tree(s) were given as a gift to the various municipalities to commemorate Bruce County's 150th.
"We all planted them at the same time and hopefully it (the tree) will be here for another 150 years," says Smith.
As Mayor Smith notes, Friday's tree planting is just one of many events planned throughout the year to commemorate Bruce County's 150th Anniversary.
As for the location of the tree, Mayor Smith says placing it in front of the Police Station seemed ideal.
"This is really right at the centre of our municipality, our municipal offices are here, our Plex is here and hopefully in the future we'll have a bigger sports complex here," adds Smith.
Planting of commemorative sugar maple trees also took place Friday in Chesley (at the Municipal Office), Walkerton (at the Bruce Power Regional Soccer Park), Ripley (Memorial Park), Tiverton (at the Cenotaph), Lions Head (at the Cenotaph), Teeswater (at the Fairgrounds), and in Hepworth (at the Cenotaph).
All of the sugar maple trees are accompanied by specially made commemorative stone plaques; the stone quarried from the Bruce Peninsula.
Bruce County was, at one time, part of the 'Huron District', constituted in 1850 as the United Counties of Huron, Perth and Bruce and became an independent county in 1867.

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2018 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc