Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

OHL Cup Update

Toronto | by Bayshore News Staff  

Jr Knights Still # 1


OHL Cup Powered by Under Armour Minor Midget Top-10 Rankings

OMHA Championship Weekend March 3-5 to determine league's OHL Cup Qualifiers

The Ontario Hockey League today announced the eleventh edition of the weekly minor midget rankings for the 2017 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament powered by Under Armour and hosted by the Greater Toronto Hockey LeagueMinor Midget Rankings for the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour - Week 1=

Top 10

1 London Jr. Knights*
2 Mississauga Rebels*
3 Whitby Wildcats
4 Toronto Marlboros*
5 Quinte Red Devils
6 Vaughan Kings*
7 Ajax-Pickering Raiders
8 Waterloo Wolves
9 Brampton 45's
10 Toronto Jr. Canadiens*

Honourable Mention

Toronto Titans
Kitchener Jr. Rangers
Mississauga Senators
Mississauga Reps

*Officially qualified for 2017 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Powered by Under=

The OMHA Championship Tournament takes place this weekend, March 3-5 in Whi=
tby, featuring five clubs including the host Wildcats, Quinte Red Devils, A=
jax-Pickering Raiders, Brampton 45's, and Grey-Bruce Highlanders.  The top =
four finishers officially receive OHL Cup qualification while the fifth pla=
ce team will have the opportunity to compete in one of the tournament's Wil=
d Card Play-In Games.  Also competing in a Wild Card Play-In Game from the =
OMHA are the Halton Hurricanes who defeated the Guelph Gryphons in the SCTA=
's Consolation.

Tournament Structure:

16 of the 20 spots in the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour are guarante=
ed through league competition.  The 16 guaranteed spots continue to include=
 all four GTHL Semi-Finalists, and the top four teams that place at the OMH=
A Championship.  Three teams from the ALLIANCE will still be guaranteed a s=
pot in the tournament including the Champion and Finalist, along with the w=
inner of a best-of-three Semi-Final Wild Card Series to be played between t=
he losers of the two league Semi-Finals.  Also as in past years, two tourna=
ment entries are reserved for United States competition, while both an HNO =
and NOHA representative will also compete.  New in 2017, the final guarante=
ed spot is awarded to HEO but represented by their previous year Bantam Cha=
mpionship team who will be reassembled for tournament competition.  This se=
ason, HEO's entry will be members of the 2016 Bantam Champion Eastern Ontar=
io Wild.

Wild Card Games:

The final four entries at the 2017 OHL Cup powered by Under Armour will be =
Wild Cards determined among eight teams that will play a one game 'win and =
in' scenario.  The eight competing teams aiming for the final four tourname=
nt spots will continue to include the fifth place team at the OMHA Champion=
ship, and the loser of the ALLIANCE Semi-Final Wild Card Series.  As introd=
uced in 2016, two spots in Wild Card games will be reserved for GTHL teams.=
  The two competing GTHL teams will be determined through a pair of Wild Ca=
rd Play-In Series matchups involving the four GTHL teams who qualified for =
the playoffs but lost in the first round.  One spot in a Wild Card will als=
o be reserved for the winner of an OMHA SCTA Consolation Game that features=
 both teams who lost in the SCTA Tournament Semi-Final.  The OMHA teams eli=
gible for this matchup will be determined annually based on the league not =
hosting the OMHA Championship.  Finally, the three remaining teams who will=
 compete in the Wild Card matchups will be named by the Tournament Selectio=
n Committee.  The Committee will evaluate and review a team's post-season s=
uccess as the first criteria for selection, with additional criteria to inc=
lude regular season play and tournament play.  All four Wild Card games wil=
l take place on Tuesday March 14 with specific matchups and times of play t=
o be determined by random draw among the eight competing teams on Wednesday=
 March 8.


Last season the York Simcoe Express captured their second OHL Cup title and=
 first since 2004 with a 2-1 overtime win over the Toronto Marlboros.  Curr=
ent North Bay Battalion rookie Rhys Forhan scored both Express goals, while=
 goaltender Andrei Berezinskiy earned tournament MVP honours playing to a 5=
-0 record with a 2.09 goals-against-average.

The 2016 OHL Priority Selection featured 12 players chosen in the first rou=
nd who competed in the OHL Cup including Ryan Merkley (Toronto Jr. Canadien=
s - 1st overall Guelph Storm), Owen Lalonde (Windsor Jr. Spitfires - 2nd ov=
erall Sudbury Wolves), Danil Antropov (Toronto Marlboros - 6th overall Osha=
wa Generals), Kirill Nizhnikov (Toronto Jr. Canadiens - 7th overall Mississ=
auga Steelheads), Barrett Hayton (Toronto Red Wings - 9th overall Sault Ste=
. Marie Greyhounds), Peter Stratis (Mississauga Rebels - 11th overall Ottaw=
a 67's), Akil Thomas (Toronto Marlboros - 12th overall Niagara IceDogs), Ad=
am McMaster (Niagara North - 13th overall North Bay Battalion), Tyler Weiss=
 (Don Mills Flyers - 15th overall Sarnia Sting), Nathan Dunkley (Quinte Red=
 Devils - 17th overall Kingston Frontenacs), Allan McShane (Toronto Marlbor=
os - 19th overall Erie Otters), and Jack McBain (Don Mills Flyers - 20th ov=
erall Barrie Colts).

Notable OHL Cup graduates currently playing in the NHL include Mitch Marner=
 (Vaughan Kings/Toronto Maple Leafs), Connor McDavid (Toronto Marlboros/Edm=
onton Oilers), Robby Fabbri (Mississauga Rebels/St. Louis Blues), Max Domi =
(Don Mills Flyers/Arizona Coyotes), Sean Monahan (Mississauga Rebels/Calgar=
y Flames), Taylor Hall (Greater Kingston Frontenacs/New Jersey Devils), Tyl=
er Seguin (Toronto Nationals/Dallas Stars), John Tavares (Toronto Marlboros=
/New York Islanders), P.K Subban (Markham Islanders/Nashville Predators), a=
nd Steven Stamkos (Markham Waxers/Tampa Bay Lightning).

This season the OHL and GTHL announced a new three-year partnership with Un=
der Armour that includes title sponsorship of the OHL Cup Showcase Tourname=
nt.  The OHL and GTHL have also announced a five-year partnership extension=
 ensuring the event will continue to be hosted by the GTHL through 2021.

For more information, please visit<

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc