Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Thursday, February 9, 2017

No E-Voting in South Bruce Peninsula

Wiarton | by John Divinski  

A vote to bring in electronic voting for 2018 was defeated this week.

Photo by Craig Power 

As municipalities in Bruce and Grey counties approve moving to e-voting for the 2018 municipal election, South Bruce Peninsula is bucking the trend.

Mayor Janice Jackson informs Bayshore Broadcasting News that at the Tuesday council meeting (FEB 7), an effort to move to Internet and telephone voting was defeated in a tie vote.

Mayor Jackson and Councillor Matt Jackson voted in favour of the move.

Councillors Ana Vukovic and Craig Gammie voted against.

Deputy Mayor Jay Kirkland was not at the meeting but in the past, he has indicated he was not in favour of moving to e-voting.

Councillor Vukovic expressed concern that moving to computer voting could disenfranchise a lot of senior citizens who are not familiar with a computer or even own one.

The defeat means South Bruce Peninsula will continue to vote with a mail-in ballot.

Recently, Saugeen Shores, Brockton, and Kincardine have approved moving to electronic voting in 2018.


Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc