Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Monday, July 25, 2016

NorthStars Tie Series

Owen Sound | by Fred Wallace  

Post Game Comments from Dan Keane


Ontario Senior Lacrosse Playoffs


Owen Sound NorthStars 8 Brooklin Merchants 7
( Best of 5 series is tied 1-1 )

NorthStars 8 Merchants 7

Travis Szabolcs and Rob Milnes both scored twice for the NorthStars who evened the best of 5 series at 1 win apiece.

Scott Defrancesco, Brett Kloepfer, Zack Thompson and Dan Keane also scored for Owen Sound who trailed 3-2 after 1 period but led 6-3 early in the 3rd.

Chris Attwood scored 4 times for Brooklin including 2 late power play goals that allowed the Merchants to get to within 1 goal with just over a minute to play.

Zach Sloan, Brandon Stall and Matt Spanger also scored for the Merchants who will host Game 3 in the series on Friday night at 8:30 pm at the Luther Vipond Arena.

The NorthStars have arranged a Fan Bus for Friday's game at Brooklin. To book your seat on the bus and Game ticket ( $ 30 for everything ) call General Manager Keith Peer at 519-270-1784

The victory by the NorthStars extends the series to a 4th game which will be in Owen Sound Saturday night at 7 pm at the JD McArthur Arena.


1st Period
Brooklin Merchants - Matt Spanger (Luke Coote) 6:57
Brooklin Merchants - Chris Attwood (Brandon Staal) 8:39
Owen Sound North Stars - Brett Kloepfer (Dan Keane, Zach Thompson) 9:13
Owen Sound North Stars - Zach Thompson (Tyler Glebe, Tyler Gibbons) 13:34
Brooklin Merchants - Chris Attwood (unassisted) 14:32

2nd Period
Owen Sound North Stars - Travis Szabolcs (powerplay) (Scott Defrancesco, Todd Greer) 1:46
Owen Sound North Stars - Rob Milnes (Travis Szabolcs) 5:16
Owen Sound North Stars - Rob Milnes (Miller Rusbridge) 19:09

3rd Period
Owen Sound North Stars - Travis Szabolcs (Rob Milnes, Dan Keane) 0:32
Brooklin Merchants - Brandon Staal (powerplay) (Kyle OBrien, Jonas Derks) 4:42
Brooklin Merchants - Ryan Degerdon (Mike Attwood, Jonas Derks) 9:19
Owen Sound North Stars - Scott Defrancesco (powerplay) (Travis Szabolcs, Dan Keane) 12:00
Owen Sound North Stars - Dan Keane (Todd Greer, Travis Szabolcs) 16:25
Brooklin Merchants - Chris Attwood (powerplay) (Zach Sloan, Brandon Staal) 18:27
Brooklin Merchants - Chris Attwood (powerplay) (Jonas Derks, Brandon Staal) 18:50



share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc