Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Sunday, March 6, 2016

Winterhawks In A Hole

Saugeen Shores | by John Divinski  

Mapleton Minto grabs 3-1 series lead with 4-3 overtime victory.

The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks have their backs up against a wall in WOAA league semi-final play in the North Division against the Mapleton Minto 81's.

At the Plex, the Hawks lost in overtime 4-3 on Saturday night.

The 81's lead the best of seven semi final series, 3-1.

Winterhawks coach Peter Roedger says it came down to a bounce of the puck at the 13 minute mark of the first overtime period as former Owen Sound Attack Captain Scott Tregunna put it behind goalie Josh Sturrock.

Roedger says they were playing with a short bench due to injuries but the team did a fantastic job nevertheless.

He says now they've got a week to prepare for the next game and get healthy.

They hope to have a longer bench with players returning.

Roedger says they've got to come up with everything they've got against the 81's.

Winterhawks Player of the Game Kyle Roulston -- who scored once -- says it was tough to lose in OT, after overcoming a two-goal deficit but he knows they've got the team to do the job.

Other goal scorers for the Hawks were Blake Underwood and Curtis Johnston.

The Hawks have to win the next three games to move on to the league championship.

The next game in this series goes Saturday, March 12th in Drayton at 9 PM.

Should a 6th game be necessary, it will be played Sunday, March 13th at the Plex at 2 PM.

A seventh game in the series, if necessary, will go Tuesday, March 15th in Palmerston at 8:30 PM.

The winner of the series will play for the league championship against the South Division winner.

In the South Division semi-final series, the Petrolia Squires doubled up on the Clinton Radars on Saturday, 4-2.

That best of seven series is tied at two games apiece.

Next game goes this Friday in Clinton.

In the North Division "A" round, the Ripley Wolves beat Shelburne 3-2 to sweep the best of seven series.



Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2018 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc