Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, April 10, 2015

OHL Draft Gets Underway

Owen Sound | by Fred Wallace  

Interview with Attack General Manager Dale DeGray about 2015 OHL Draft.

Pic from @Sudbury_Wolves David Levin 1st overall pick 2015 

The Sudbury Wolves introduced David Levin of the Don Mills Flyers as the first overall pick of the 2015 OHL Priority Selection on Friday.

The Priority Selection officially begins at 9 AM on Saturday. 

The Owen Sound Attack will have two selections in the first round; 9th overall as a compensation pick for the reluctant Victor Mete selection in 2014 and the 14th selection.

Attack General Manager Dale DeGray anticipates four players -- Levin, Vilardi, McLeod and Tippett -- will be snapped up long before Owen Sound's first choice comes around.

DeGray also relates another group of players -- such as Gilmour, Davis and Meireles -- also likely will be gone, but " might " be available at the number nine selection

Regardless of who is selected in the first eight picks, DeGray is confident in the list compiled through scouting this season and he fully believes there will be two quality OHL caliber players drafted by Owen Sound in the first round.

The Attack do not currently have a second round pick, and while he's made overtures to acquire one, DeGray isn't optimistic he'll be able to make a transaction for a second round selection by Saturday..

DeGray has made a minor deal prior -- trading his 7th and 12th round picks on Saturday to the Flint Firebirds in exchange for their 6th and 11th Round Picks in 2016.

The Attack now sit with 16 picks on Saturday, instead of their original 18.

The Attack will select: 1st (9th), 1st (14th), 3rd (LON), 3rd (OTT), 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th (NIA), 8th, 8th (WSR), 9th, 9th (BAR), 10th, 11th, 13th, 14th

A reminder that the Attack and Attack Pak will be holding their annul Draft Day gathering in the Shore Room of the Harry Lumley Bayshore Community Centre. Morning refreshments/snacks will be available from Tim Horton’s, as well as a light lunch at 12 PM courtesy of East Side Mario’s in Owen Sound.

Attack General Manager Dale DeGray will address fans/media in the Shore Room following Rounds 1, 3, 9 and 14.

2010 OHL Priority Selection: Daniel Milne, Holden Cook
2011 OHL Priority Selection: Zach Nastasiuk, Chris Bigras
2012 OHL Priority Selection: Thomas Schemitsch, Jeffrey Gilligan, Jaden Lindo, Justin Brack
2013 OHL Priority Selection: Michael McNiven, Connor Walters, Ethan Szypula, Ryan Heeps, Tyler MacArthur
2014 OHL Priority Selection: Jonah Gadjovich, Keenan Reynolds, Kevin Hancock (AP)
CHL Import Draft: Petrus Palmu, Damir Sharipzyanov
Free Agents: Jack Flinn, Jarett Meyer, Jacob Friend (AP)
Trade: Santino Centorame, Liam Dunda, Erik Bradford, Kyle Platzer, Jacob Busch



share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc