Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Saturday, May 3, 2014

Winterhawks Hand Out Awards

Saugeen Shores | by John Divinski  

Blake Underwood wins both MVP awards; Sailors and Classics leaving WOAA.

The Saugeen Shores Winterhawks 2013-14 season officially came to an end with a year end banquet and awards presentation.

During the evening, club president Gord Lamont announced that the WOAA Senior Hockey Champions, the Komoka Classics, ironically folded as a team shortly after the championship win.

Komoka won the championship in a series against North Division champions, Mapleton Minto 81's.

It was also announced the Goderich Pirates are taking a one-year leave of absence in the South Division of the WOAA.

The following is the list of award winners for the Winterhawks.

Jim Little Rookie of the Year -- Adam Alexander

Leading Scorer (regular season) -- Bryan Kazarian

Top Defensive Player -- Jason Hutchinson

Top Defenseman -- Trevor Smith

Most Valuable Player (regular season) -- Blake Underwood

Most Valuable Player (playoffs) -- Blake Underwood

Most Dedicated Winterhawk -- Trevor Nieson (equipment manager)

President's Award -- Greg Thede

Community Service Award -- Jason Hutchinson

Coaches Award -- Greg Wardell




share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc