Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Orillia Athlete of Year Nominees

Orillia | by Ken Hashizume  

Five people are in the running for this year's award in Orillia

Five people are vying to become the 2013 Orillia Athlete of the Year.

They are wrestler Chris McIssac, speed skater Stephen Graham, cross-country skier Harry Seaton, cyclist Rob Holmgren, and cyclist and skier Soren Meeuwisse.

McIssac was the 2013 Canadian Champion, 2012 Orillia Open Champion, and won gold in the 2012 Ontario Winter Games.

He was also an Ontario and Pan-Am bronze medallist.

Seaton was part of Lakehead University cycling team where they finished first in O-U-A and C-I-S.

He especially did well at the C-I-S competition in Whistler where he finished first in the Men’s 10 km skate, 15 km classic, team relay, and overall aggregate.

Holmgren won the provincial cycling championship, the national cycling championship, and the provincial title at the Men’s Cyclocross Championship.

He also competed in every Ontario Cup race this year in the Mountain Bike category where he came in first in nearly every event.

Meeuwisse is the lone female in the field and she finished first in four different provincial and national biking competitions in the under-17 expert female category, and first in all Ontario Cup races in the under-17 expert female category.

She also did well in skiing where her best finish was second place in the 7.5 km classic race at the 2013 Hardwood Ontario Cup.

Graham won 3 gold medals in speed skating at the Special Olympics World Winter Games in South Korea.

He also qualified was the national championships in track and field.

The winner will be selected by a 10-member committee that includes Sunshine 89, the Packet & Times, and the City of Orillia -- Recreation Advisory Committee.

Previous Orillia Athlete of the Year winners include swimmer Dave Town, figure skater Brian Orser, former NHL player Ethan Moreau, and former Toronto Maple Leaf Assistant General Manager Bill Watters.

The winner will be announced at the February 10th Council meeting. 




share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc