Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Binnington Named Goalie of Year

Owen Sound | by Fred Wallace  

Owen Sound netminder posted record wins and shutouts this OHL season.

Owen Sound Attack netminder Jordan Binnington has been named as the Ontario Hockey League's Goaltender of the Year

Binnington, in his fourth year with the Attack, established an Owen Sound record for wins in a season with 32 this year and posted a 2.17 goals against average

Over the course of his career in Owen Sound, Binnington has established almost every goaltending record for the franchise.

This season, the 19 year old Binnington posted 7 shutouts to establish a one season record for Owen Sound and he also holds the franchise record for career shutouts with 10.

And in terms of career victories for the franchise, Binnington bypassed Curtis Sanford in November and finished with 86.

Heading to what would be his overage season, it's unlikely that Binnington will return to Owen Sound, but his career victories are 20 more than the mark established by Sanford which had stood for more than a decade.

Ironically, in his OHL debut on September 17th, 2008 at Barrie, the Colts slaughtered Binnington and the Attack 9-1.

From those humble beginnings, Binnington went on to win an OHL Championship for the Attack in 2011 and posted a shutout victory over Kootenay at the 2011 Memorial Cup in Mississauga.

Binnington, a draft pick of the St Louis Blues, is the second Owen Sound netminder to win the OHL Goalie-of-the-Year award. Jamie Storr of the Platers won the honor in 1993-94.


News Release from the OHL

The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Jordan Binnington of the Owen Sound Attack is the 2012-13 recipient of the OHL’s Goaltender of the Year award.

Binnington set Attack single season records with 32 wins and seven shutout victories while posting a 32-12-1-5 record.  He produced the league’s second lowest goals-against-average at 2.17 and third best save percentage with a mark of .932.
 His seven shutouts tied for a league-high and he helped the Attack earn their first Dave Pinkney Trophy for allowing a league-low 165 goals against.

“Receiving this award is something I am very proud of and will cherish forever,” Binnington said.  “It was a very exciting year for me on a number of levels and as a team we were such a strong hard-working group.  My teammates made my job easier and I need to thank them first and foremost.  The Attack organization is first class and the city of Owen Sound has been extremely supportive throughout my time here.  I couldn’t have asked for a better City to play in or a better group of fans to play in front of.”

A 19-year-old from Gravenhurst, ON, Binnington becomes just the second Owen Sound goaltender to win the award following Jamie Storr who earned the honour with the Platers in 1993-94.  Originally chosen by the Attack in the second round of the 2009 OHL Priority Selection, Binnington is also the franchise’s all-time wins leader with 86 and shutouts with nine in addition to his single season records.  A veteran of four seasons in Owen Sound, Binnington helped the Attack capture their first OHL Championship in 2011 and was later awarded Top Goaltender at the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup.  This season he earned Vaughn OHL Goaltender of the Month honours in both October and April along with Player of the Week honours after posting three consecutive shutout victories in November before representing the OHL on Canada’s National Junior Team.  Binnington is a St. Louis Blues prospect selected in the third round of the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.

“As an organization, we’re very proud of Jordan being named the Ontario Hockey League’s top goaltender,” said Attack General Manager Dale DeGray.  “Jordan is a fine young man and it has been a pleasure to watch him grow from a rookie goaltender who was drafted by our organization, into what he is today. He has made a tremendous contribution to our organization both on and off the ice during his time here and we cannot thank him enough for his dedication to the Attack organization.”

The OHL Goaltender of the Year is awarded to the league's most outstanding goaltender as selected by OHL General Managers.  Teams were not permitted to vote for a goaltender from their own hockey club.  Goaltenders received five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

Binnington received 60 points in the voting process just ahead of John Gibson of the Kitchener Rangers who finished in second place with 57 voting points after finishing in third place for this award last season.  Malcolm Subban of the Belleville Bulls finished in third place in voting with 29 points.

The award was first presented in 1987-88 to Rick Tabaracci (Cornwall) with other notable winners including Andrew Raycroft (Kingston 1999-00), Ray Emery (Sault Ste. Marie 2001-02), and Mike Murphy of the Belleville Bulls who is the only goaltender to win the award twice in 2007-08 and 2008-09.  Michael Houser of the London Knights won the award last season.

Binnington will be formally presented with the OHL’s Goaltender of the Year Award on Tuesday June 4 at the OHL Awards Ceremony held at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.  He is also the OHL’s nominee for the CHL Goaltender of the Year.




share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc