Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Forslund To Fredonia

Orangeville | by Bayshore News Staff  

Owen Sound Minor Hockey Grad To Play In All Star Challenge

Orangeville Flyers captain Blake Forslund has confirmed his commitment to join the Fredonia State University Blue Devils beginning with the 2013-14 SUNYAC season.

The 20-year old native of Owen Sound is currently playing in his fourth OJHL season after starting his career as a member of the Collingwood Blues as a 17-year old in 2009-10. 

After the Blues suspended operations following his second year in Collingwood, Forslund would join the Orangeville Flyers last season and quickly became one of the club's veteran leaders.  He would tie for the team scoring lead after recording career-highs with 22 goals and 47 points in 48 games played, while earning a spot with the OJHL North Division All-Star Team that finished as runner-up at the inaugural Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge held in Smiths Falls, Ontario. 

After being named the club's new captain entering this season, Forslund is once again among the team leaders with 9 goals and 21 points.


The Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL), conjunction with the Central Canada Hockey League (CCHL) and the Ligue de Hockey Junior AAA de Québec (LHJAAAQ), today unveiled the rosters for the eight All-Star Teams that will compete at the 2012 Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge scheduled to take place in Wellington, Ontario from December 27-29 at the Wellington & District Community Centre.

The eight teams will feature 160 of Central Canada’s premier Junior ‘A’ players with more than 30 NCAA Division I commitments and 15 members of Team Canada East that competed at the recent World Junior ‘A’ Challenge in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.

The CCHL Robinson and Yzerman Division rosters consist of seven players that participated in last year’s tournament; five members of the Yzerman Division (Hodgson, Norris, Watson, Walsh, Zawadzki) and two members of the Robinson Division (Akeson, Weidauer).  The Pembroke Lumber Kings lead the way with six players named to the Yzerman Division roster, while both the Smiths Falls Bears and Carleton Place Canadiens have six members named to Team Robinson.

The LHJAAAQ will be split into two All-Star squads this year as the defending Central Canada Cup champion; Team St-Louis and Team Burrows.  Seven members of last year’s championship squad will return to play, including three members of Team St-Louis (Arsenault, Bezeau, Levasseur) and four members of Team Burrows (Beaulac, Blanchette, Gagnon, Tardif).  The Lachine Maroons lead all teams in the tournament with seven players named to Team St-Louis, while the Sherbrooke Cougars placed five players on Team Burrows.

The host OJHL will return with four All-Star Teams again this year including 21 players that participated in last year’s event; four from the defending runner-up North Division (Chiste, Clairmont, Dawe, Leavens), five each from the South Division (Buckles, Dutra, McCarron, Neville, Piacentini) and West Division (Bennett, Conacher, Forslund, Kielich, Richards), as well as seven members of the East Division (Adamo, Danforth, Doerksen, Duchesne, Jasper, Raguseo, Yeo).  The Burlington Cougars, Newmarket Hurricanes and host Wellington Dukes each lead the way with six players named to their respective All-Star squads, while in the South Division, both the St. Michael’s Buzzers and Toronto Lakeshore Patriots had five players selected.

For more information and the full list of selected players, please visit the 2012 Central Canada Cup website at and by following the tournament link.



share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc