Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Monday, March 26, 2012

Gold For Regional Skiers

Mont-Tremblant | by Bayshore News Staff  

Can-Am Eastern Championships


Can-Am Eastern Ski Championships

Ladies’ Giant Slalom

Stephanie Currie of Osler Bluff Ski Club won the event

Currie's time was 1:47.66


Ladies’ Slalom

Ali Nullmeyer from Georgian Peaks was the event winner

Nullmeyer's time was 1:22.87



MONT-TREMBLANT, QUE. (March 25, 2012) – Despite battling warm weather and light rain, the race organizing committee in Mont-Tremblant, Que., was able to pull off the KLM K2 Can-Am Eastern Championships for about 150 of the best 13- and 14-year-old alpine racers in Eastern Canada this weekend.
Stephanie Currie, of the Osler Bluff Ski Club in Ontario, took home La Coupe Taschereau - the oldest ski-racing trophy in North America - as the overall ladies’ winner after two giant slalom races held Friday and Saturday and a slalom race Sunday.
“It feels great,” said Currie, who finished first in giant slalom Saturday and second in Sunday’s slalom. “My sister (Lizzie Currie) won (K2) nationals last year so I thought I would come and rip it up here and it worked out.”
A super-G race was originally scheduled for Friday but due to lack of snow at the top of the track, a second giant slalom race was added instead.
“The weather was very warm,” said Currie, “but Tremblant held a very good race.”
La Coupe Taschereau on the men’s side went to David Frisk, who is from Sweden but trains in the USA. Frisk won Friday’s giant slalom and Sunday’s slalom.
“It was amazing of Mont Tremblant to do this. Incredible,” said Frisk of the warm conditions. “It was amazing that the snow held up.” 
Jean-François Bélisle, Alpine Canada’s national development coach, was pleased with the quality of competition and the experience gained by the Canadian athletes.
“The fact that we are competing with the U.S. and they come up with some really high-caliber skiers gives our athletes the opportunity to challenge themselves, challenge their skiing, challenge their intensity and forces them to race at a different level then what they are used to.
“Those kids really were able to push themselves in a way that they don’t have to when they are competing with the same kids day in, day out.”
In past years, a single K2 national event was held for all of Canada, but this year two events were held – one for western athletes in Panorama, B.C., (which concluded Saturday) and one in the east at Mont-Tremblant.
“Definitely the benefit of that format is it makes for less travelling, less time not skiing and more time skiing,” said Bélisle.
Results from both the eastern and western KLM K2 Can-Am alpine events will be used to name the team for this year’s Whistler Cup, which runs from April 6-8, 2012.  The Whistler Cup is an international race that features over 350 young skiers from around the world.  The Canadian team will be announced Monday.
Results - KLM K2 Can-Am Eastern Championships – Mont-Tremblant, Que.
Friday, March 23 – Men’s giant slalom
1.    David Frisk  - USA (1:47.61)
2.    Samuel Lamhamedi – SQA/Stoneham Ski Club (1:48.00)
3.    Grant Gutstein – USA (1:48.75)
Friday, March 23 – Ladies’ giant slalom
1.    Eva Shaw – USA  (1:49.77)
2.    L. Alexandr Courchesne – SQA/Mont Saint-Sauveur (1:50.76)
3.    Nina O’Brien – USA (1:50.79)
Saturday, March 24 – Men’s giant slalom
1.    Samuel Lamhamedi – SQA/Stoneham Ski Club (1:45.22)
2.    Patrick Kenney – USA (1:45.78)
3.    Ryan Znamierowski – USA (1:46.55)
Saturday, March 24 – Ladies’ giant slalom
1.    Stephanie Currie – Osler Bluff Ski Club (1:47.66)
2.     Nina O’Brien – USA (1:49.25)
3.    Ali Nullmeyer – Georgian Peaks (1:49.48)
Sunday, March 25 – Men’s slalom
1.    David Frisk – USA (1.22.18)
2.    Simon Fournier – SQA/Mont-Tremblant (1:24.03)
3.    Frederic Courville – SQA/Mont Olympia (1:25.26)
Sunday, March 25 – Ladies’ slalom
1.    Ali Nullmeyer – Georgian Peaks (1:22.87)
2.    Stephanie Currie – Osler Bluff Ski Club (1:25.55)
3.    Brooke McMahon – SQA/Mont Blanc (1:26.21)


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc