Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Tilson Trophy To Be Awarded This Morning

Toronto | by Bayshore News Staff  

Garrett Wilson Attack Nominee


OHL to Announce Most Outstanding Player of the Year 

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League will be hosting a media conference call on Wednesday May 4, 2011, at 11:30 am Eastern to announce the 2010-11 recipient of the OHL’s Red Tilson Trophy awarded to the Most Outstanding Player of the Year as voted by the sports writers and broadcasters of the league. 

The Red Tilson Trophy is the most prestigious individual award presented annually by the league to the Most Outstanding Player in the Ontario Hockey League during the regular season.  The award is in honour of Albert “Red” Tilson, who was killed in action in Europe during World War II.  Tilson was the OHA scoring champion for the 1942-43 season after scoring 19 goals and 38 assists for 57 points in 22 games with the Oshawa Generals.

Media were provided a ballot with a nominee from all 20 member clubs, with players receiving five (5) points for a first-place selection, three (3) points for a second-place selection and one (1) point for a third-place selection.

Last season Tyler Seguin of the Plymouth Whalers received 224 points in the voting process ahead of Taylor Hall of the Windsor Spitfires who received 197 points as runner-up.  Nazem Kadri of the London Knights finished in third place with 34 points. 


2010-11 Red Tilson Trophy Nominees:

Barrie – Colin Behenna

Belleville – Luke Judson*

Brampton – Cameron Wind

Erie – Ramis Sadikov

Guelph – Taylor Beck*

Kingston – Ryan Spooner

Kitchener – Jason Akeson

London – Michael Houser

Mississauga – Casey Cizikas*

Niagara – Ryan Strome

Oshawa – Christian Thomas*

Ottawa – Tyler Toffoli

Owen Sound – Garrett Wilson*

Peterborough – Matt Puempel

Plymouth – Stefan Noesen

Saginaw – Jordan Szwarz

Sarnia – Nail Yakupov

Sault Ste. Marie – Daniel Catenacci

Sudbury – Alain Valiquette

Windsor – Ryan Ellis


*also nominated for the award in 2009-10


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc