Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Majors Off to OHL Final

Mississauga | by Manny Paiva  

Mississauga beats Niagara 4-1 to win Eastern Conference Championship in five games.

The Mississauga St. Michael's Majors have captured the OHL Eastern Conference Championship.

Rob Flick and defenceman Dylan DeMelo scored 37 seconds apart late in the second period to snap a 1-1 tie and the Majors went on to beat the Niagara IceDogs 4-1 Tuesday night.

The Majors claimed the Bobby Orr Trophy by taking the best-of-seven final series 4-1.

Casey Cizikas and import Maxim Kitsyn had the other goals for the Majors, who will meet the winner of the Western Conference final between Owen Sound and Windsor in the league championship series for the J. Ross Robertson Trophy.

Owen Sound leads the series 3-1 with Game 5 scheduled for Wednesday night in Owen Sound.

If the Attack wins the series, it will give Owen Sound an automatic berth in the MasterCard Memorial Cup championship. As the host team, the Majors are already guaranteed a berth in the National junior tournament.


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc