Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Monday, April 11, 2011

Leyden Trophy To Be Announced

Toronto | by Bayshore News Staff  

Attack Coach Mark Reeds A Contender


OHL to Announce Coach of the Year 

The Ontario Hockey League will be hosting a media conference call on Tuesday April 12, 2011, at 12 pm to announce the 2010-11 recipient of the Matt Leyden Trophy awarded annually to the OHL’s Coach of the Year. 

Finalists for 2010-11 OHL Coach of the Year are:

Stan Butler, Brampton Battalion

Chris Byrne, Ottawa 67’s

Dave Cameron, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

Rob Ftorek, Erie Otters

Mark Reeds, Owen Sound Attack

Michael Vellucci, Plymouth Whalers


The Matt Leyden Trophy is voted on by the member teams of the Ontario Hockey League. In a first round of balloting, teams vote for the top coaches, within their own conference. The top three nominees from both the Eastern and Western conferences are declared finalists. A second round of voting is then conducted on a league wide basis where teams vote for any of the six finalists. At no time during the voting can a team vote for their own candidate. Coaches receive five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

The Matt Leyden Trophy has been awarded annually since 1972, to the Coach of the Year in the Ontario Hockey League. The award is in recognition of the contributions of Matt Leyden, past President of the Ontario Hockey Association from 1965-1967. The Oshawa native was honored as a lifetime member of the OHA in 1972.  Dale Hunter of the London Knights was the recipient in 2009-10.   



share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc