Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Every Municipality in Bruce County Declares State of Emergency

Bruce County | by Megan Johnson  

On March 24, Saugeen Shores and Kincardine declared

The Town of Saugeen Shores and Kincardine joined every municipality in Bruce County, including the Territory of Saugeen Ojibway Nation in declaring a state of emergency in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Declarations of emergency are made under the Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act when an emergency requires immediate action to prevent, reduce or mitigate a danger of major proportions.

In a video statement Saugeen Shores Mayor Luke Charbonneau says the Town is committed to keeping the community safe and essential services will continue.

“But I want to be clear: the COVID-19 pandemic is a serious situation for everyone in Saugeen Shores. Stay home for all but essential activities, including buying food, medicine, or going to work.”

Essential services will focus on the following: policing, fire and emergency response; water supply and waste water treatment; emergency infrastructure repair; winter control; and supporting other essential services as identified by the province.

The Southampton Landfill operations and hours will be modified. As well, the municipality has closed all playground structures, public washrooms, the Skate Park, BMX Park and Off-Leash Dog Park.

Mayor Luke Charbonneau echoed South Bruce Peninsula Mayor Janice Jackson’s statements made last week for those planning on visiting the area to stay home, to not overrun the local healthcare system.

“I am asking you now to postpone those plans. Our healthcare resources will be stretched thin by those people already in our community, so please, stay home. When this situation is over, Saugeen Shores will eagerly welcome you, but now is not the time.”


share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc