Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, October 4, 2019

New President and CEO for NII based in Port Elgin

Saugeen Shores | by Megan Johnson  

The NII’s new location, iSPACE620 (former Saugeen Shores Police Station) will open in early 2020

Photo of Bruce Wallace provided by NII 

Southampton’s Bruce Wallace has been named the Nuclear Innovation (NII) President and CEO and will start his reign October 15, 2019.

Wallace, will be taking over for Frank Saunders, who assumed the role of President and CEO of NII since the Institute was launched in May 2018. Saunders will move on to focus on leading research for Bruce Power that support advancing new technologies and will be a Nuclear Industry Expert on NIIs Board of Directors.

Wallace has worked in the private and public sector. He comes from Canada’s Advanced Manufacturing Supercluster, where he was part of a small leadership team that established the industry-led initiative to intensify collaboration between manufacturers and advanced technology companies. Before that, he was the Special Adviser to Ontario’s Deputy Minister of Economic Growth and Development.

Bruce had a long career as a journalist and media executive for Maclean’s magazine and the Los Angeles Times. His work included a focus on critical energy and environmental public policy issues. 

“Driving development of an advanced nuclear industry is essential to building a cleaner, better future for us all,” Wallace says. “The people and companies in this region are already showing Canada and the world what a sustainable, forward-looking nuclear industry looks like. It’s a great story to tell.

“There is no better place to work together on the skills, technologies and ideas that will find solutions to the great challenges of our time.” 

Bruce will work out of NII’s temporary location at 625 Goderich St in Port Elgin until renovations at NII’s new location, iSPACE620 are complete. The new space is expected to be fully operational by January 2020.  

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc