Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, October 4, 2019

Huron-Bruce Election Candidates Discuss Climate Change

Huron-Bruce | by Peter Jackson  

Debate, hosted by Green Goderich, focused solely on environmental issues Thursday night.

Climate change was the only issue under debate in Goderich Thursday, as four of the five Huron-Bruce federal election candidates voiced their platforms at Lakeshore United Church.

The discussion was staged by the recently formed environmental group Green Goderich, and was part of a nationwide "100 Debates on the Environment" event.

Liberal Allan Thompson defended his party's carbon tax, and repeated his government's promise to eliminate greenhouse gas emissions in Canada by 2050.

Thompson says a re-elected Grit government would also make what he calls "massive investments" in the transition from fossil fuels to alternative energy sources.

Incumbent Conservative MP Ben Lobb criticized the carbon tax, saying a government led by Andrew Scheer would not "force anything down anybody's throat".

The Tories seek to cap greenhouse gas emissions, with Lobb promoting the Conservative three-point plan to encourage green technology, a clean environment, and marketing Canadian environmental advances globally.

Veteran New Democrat campaigner Tony McQuail says farmers have always blazed the trail toward environmental sustainability, through responsible practices.

McQuail says an NDP government would create a program that would help farmers sequester carbon through the planting and use of cover crops, that would help ward off flooding events and drought.

Nicolas Wendler says the Green Party would roll back carbon emissions to 2005 levels by 2030, continue the carbon tax and invest in geothermal energy among other initiatives.

The Peoples' Party of Canada candidate, Kevin Klerks was absent from Thursday's debate but in an earlier exchange in Goderich, he voiced the PPC's goal of pulling Canada out of the Paris Accord on climate change.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc