Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, August 23, 2019

Municipalities Sought For Safe Communities Committee

Bruce County | by Robyn Garvey  

Co-chair of Southern Bruce committee wants local partners involved.

As part of the Safe Communities Designation comes the need for more members to sit on the Safe Communities Committee.

The goal of this Committee is to reduce injuries and prevent death wherever possible.

As such, Committee Co-Chair Jason Weppler says it is important that the municipalities within the Southern Bruce Safe Communities Designation have a seat at the Committee table.

As such Weppler has been busy making the rounds to the municipalie Councils within the safe communities designation to provide them with the personal invite to join the conversation.

He notes that the Ministry recently announced that municipalities will soon be expected to have a Communities Safety and Well Being Plan in place.

Weppler believes the Safe Communities Committee would serve as a valuable asset to municipalities as they formulate their own plans.

Currently the Southern Bruce Safety Committee has identified five key safety priorities to focus on.

They include Water Safety, Farm Safety, Mental Health, Addictions and Rural Vehicle Theft.

Over the Summer months they have placed a heavy focus on Water Safety.

Weppler is confident the six member municipalities of Arran Elderslie, Brockton, Huron-Kinloss, South Bruce, Saugeen Shores and Kincardine will be more than happy to participate.

Weppler stopped by Brockton Council recently where he received a very warm welcome and much interest in participating.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc