Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, June 7, 2019

Safe Community Designation For Southern Bruce County

Bruce County | by Robyn Garvey  

Committee works to ensure communities in area are safe.

The Southern Bruce County Safe Communities Committee has received a Parachute Canada Safe Community designation.

This designation says Parachute Canada Representative Linda Neal is a collective pledge to make injury prevention and safety promotion a top priority.

This is done at the grassroots level by addressing the priorities of the local community.

Southern Bruce County Safe Communities Co-Chair Jason Weppler says they have identified five key safety priorities to focus on.

They include: Farm Safety, Water Safety, Mental Health, Addictions and Rural Vehicle Theft.

With warm weather here, Weppler says their summer campaign will focus on water safety.

He says with so many residents living along the shoreline it is important that water safety promotion and injury prevention is on everyone’s mind.

Weppler says the Committee which works in partnership with police, fire, EMS, municipalities and community members will strategize ways to best promote each safety priority.

In the case of water safety, Weppler says the Committee with engage in a media and social media campaign as well as perhaps install A.E.D‘s. (Automated External Defibrillators) along some of the beaches in the event of a water emergency as further safe guards.

The Safe Community Designation makes Southern Bruce County the 69th community in all of Canada to receive this national designation.

The designation coincides with Safe Kids Week. (June 3rd to 9th)

To mark the occasion, 40 grade one students joined in the designation celebration yesterday and were treated to a number of interactive safety stations and displays at the Walkerton Clean Water Centre.

The Southern Bruce County Safe Communities Committee is made up of Arran Elderslie, Brockton, Huron Kinloss, South Bruce, Kincardine and Saugeen Shores.

The Safe Community designation is the result of 18 months of hard work and planning of this Committee in partnership with police, fire, EMS, municipal as well as community representation.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc