Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Sunday, June 2, 2019

Annual Huron Shore Run Takes Place

Southampton | by John Divinski  

The Foundation gets 70% and the rest is split between the other three groups.

Brianna Cavan of Georgian Bluffs kept the title in the female division, finishing the half-marathon in 1:28:27.

Cavan says running is a getaway for her saying she turns off her brain and puts her energy into legs and enjoys the ride.

Cody Shewfelt of Southampton, who finished 3rd last year in the male division, topped the half marathoners this year with a time of 1:22::09.

The big winners in the event are the Saugeen Memorial Hospital Foundation; the Southampton and Port Elgin Rotary Clubs and the Saugeen Track and Field Club.

Event co-organizer John Van Bastelaar says they've raised between $40,000 and $50,000 net proceeds to be given away.

The Foundation gets 70% and the rest is split between the other three groups.

Van Bastelaar says they had over 800 participants in the various categories but the one that's grown the most is the kids Fun Run category, where this year 120 kids were registered.

The Huron Shore Run for the first time was International and Global in scope.

Some of those taking part were from Paris, France; Aberdeen, Scotland; San Francisco, California and the Northwest Territories in Canada.

The following are the top three unofficial results in the various run categories courtesy of Enfield Timing.

Half Marathon (male)
Cody Shewfelt 1:22:08
Tim Duivesteyn 1:28:14
David Yun 1:28:30

Half Marathon (female)
Brianna Cavan 1:28:27
Danica Metcalfe 1:28:32
Lara Small 1:31:27

10K run (male)
John Martin 38:43
Sam Weichel 41:22
Dylan Roote 42:18

10K run (female)
Melissa Hardy 40:44
Keira Snelling 42:54
Denise Brady 43:56

5K run (male)
Sam Nusselder 15:26
Cohen Martin 17:10
Alan Payno 18:20

5K run (female)
Erika Scott 19:07
Jessica Martin 19:54
Grace Wheeler 20:04

3K run (male)
Lucca Van Wieringen 14:06
Johnny Ballard 14:29
Ezra Garside 14:42

3K run (female)
Hannah Lauzon 15:50
Madeline Thede 17:43
Cameron Desormeaux 17:43

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc