Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, April 19, 2019

Saugeen Shores Hall of Fame Around the Corner

Saugeen Shores | by Megan Johnson  

The night will see Shelley Bellamy, Randy Millar, Kelly Gribbons and Becky Smith-Hull inducted

Four Saugeen Shores legends will be inducted into the Saugeen Shores Hall of Fame, hosted by the Rotary Club of Port Elgin, May 9.

Those being inducted for 2019 are;

In the Builder Category, Shelley Bellamy who has been involved with Special Olympics for over 30 years in a variety of position from coaching to fundraising.

She has coached at the Provincial, National and International levels and was recognitized by the Ontario and Canadian Special Olympic Committees as Coach of the Year in 1998.

In 2003 she was recognized by the Special Olympics as educator of the year.

Also in the Builder Category, Randy Millar has been a member of the Saugeen Shores Track and Field Club for over 30 years, as a throwing coach for discus, hammer, javelin and shot put.

He has achieved numerous National and Provincial Awards and was selected as Throws Coach for the Canada Summer Games in 2013 and 2017.

In 2018, he was nominated as Athletics Canada Developmental Coach of the Year.

In the Athlete Category, Kelly Gribbons exceptional athletic career in Hockey will be highlighted at the Saugeen Shores Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

Gribbon is a silver medallist in FISU World University Games and a 2x winner of the OUA Championships where she's competed at the National level.

She's also the recipient of the Canadian Engineering Memorial Foundation Information and Community Technology Award and is a Canadian National Silver medallist in discus.

In the Athlete Category, Becky Smith-Hull is a hurdler known as a National junior track & field champion with a NCAA career. She started out her career as a member of the Saugeen Shores Track and Field Club from 1988-1996, is a three time National Champion for 400m hurdles, Medley Relay, and the 4 x 100 Medley relay.
She's received 11 Saugeen Track Club awards and a full track scholarship to Oklahoma State University where she was team captain for the Varsity Track and Field Team.

The four will be honoured  on Thursday May 9, starting at 6 p.m. in the Rotary Hall at the Saugeen Shores Community Complex in Port Elgin. 

Tickets are $20 and available at Ralph's Hi-Way Shopette, Gord's Pro Sports and Lakeshore Recreation.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc