Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Friday, March 22, 2019

Provincial Funding Coming To Grey Bruce Towns

Regional | by Claire McCormack  

Llocal communities are receiving roughly $8.3 million through the Small & Rural Municipalities Fund.

Bruce Grey Owen Sound MPP Bill Walker is applauding the Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing for giving money to small and rural communities.

The Ontario Government has announced it's giving nearly $8.3 million to towns in Bruce and Grey through the Small and Rural Municipalities Fund.
Walker says it's a one-time investment in amounts ranging from $725,000 to $580,295.

Walker says, it's good news after what he claims was "15 years of Liberal mismanagement," he adds, "You use it for whatever you wish, if it's transit, if it's water if it's wastewater, parks and recreation," Walker says municipalities know their people best.

A media release from Walker's Office says, "The province undertook a line-by-line review of its own expenditures, and expects our partners, including municipalities, to be taking steps to become more efficient. Examples could include service delivery reviews, development of shared services agreements, IT solutions, capital investments or other projects."

In total, 405 small and rural municipalities across the province will receive funding. Including:

Bruce County - $725,000

South Bruce Peninsula - $631,428

Arran-Elderslie - $580,295

Northern Bruce Peninsula - $631,428

Grey County - $725,000

Owen Sound - $634,340

Hanover - $604,923

Meaford - $642,347

Chatsworth - $591,846

Southgate - $591,606

Georgian Bluffs - $642,347

Grey Highlands - $642,347

West Grey - $642,347

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc