Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Monday, July 9, 2018

Current Mayoral Candidates from Bruce County

Regional | by John Divinski  

The municipal election takes place on October 22nd, 2018.

The municipal elections in Ontario are a little over three months away and to date in Bruce County, the 8 municipalities have declared candidates for mayor.

Northern Bruce Peninsula Mayor Milt McIver wants to extend his 35-years of municipal government involvement as he goes after another term, having served as head of the municipality since 1982, first as Reeve then in 1999, after amalgamation, as mayor.

McIver says there are several issues to deal with but managing tourism with supportive infrastructure is one of major ones.

Jim Mosiuk is challenging McIver for the mayor's chair.

In South Bruce, Robert Buckle is going after a 2nd term as mayor.

Buckle says in his last term as mayor, he indicated there were a few road projects that would get completed that didn't happen and he hopes to follow through in a second term.

To date, Buckle is unchallenged for Mayor of South Bruce.

Mayor Mitch Twolan of Huron Kinloss has served in that capacity since 2004 and has let his name stand for another municipal term and at this point remains unchallenged.

Twolan says there are several projects he wants to see move forward, including natural gas service to his community and the Deep Geologic Repository decisions both in Kincardine and a high level nuclear waste facility, possibly in Huron Kinloss.

Huron Kinloss is one of only 5 remaining on the list in Canada for such a facility.

Arran Elderslie Mayor Paul Eagleson, who will file his papers this week, says he too, wants to see natural gas service come to his community.

Eagleson is being challenged by John Alpaugh who ran unsuccessfully in the last municipal election.

Elsewhere, Bayshore Broadcasting News has already reported that South Bruce Peninsula Mayor Janice Jackson is running again and has now been challenged by Jeff Leonard.

Kincardine Mayor Anne Eadie is a candidate again and is not challenged by any others at this time.

Brockton Mayor Dave Inglis and Saugeen Shores Mayor Mike Smith have already indicated they are not running in this election, so there will be new representatives from those communities.

Charlie Bagnato and Chris Peabody are running for mayor in Brockton while Saugeen Shores Deputy Mayor Luke Charbonneau has put his name forward for mayor in that municipality.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc