Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
News Centre

News Centre

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Sports Hall of Fame Ceremony

Orillia | by Ken Hashizume  

The Orillia Sports Hall of Fame welcomed four new members.

The Orillia Sports Hall of Fame welcomed four new members.

Broadcaster Ken "Jiggs" McDonald, lacrosse players Jayme Davis and Brittney Fess, and skier Toben Sutherland were officially inducted last night (SAT) at a gala at Casino Rama.

Davis and Fess entered as athletes while McDonald and Sutherland got in as builders.

Davis says it is an honour to be inducted along side athletes and builders who have contributed to sport in the community.

She says it is humbling to receive this honour and it is fitting that she is inducted with her best friend and teammate.

Davis and Fess both played lacrosse in high school and later while at Wilfred Laurier University.

Fess says it was great to play with her best friend and is the best lacrosse player she has played with.

She says Davis inspired her both on and off the field and can't believe she is in the Sports Hall of Fame.

McDonald says being in the Hockey Hall of Fame as the Foster Hewitt Award recipient is one thing.

He says it means so much to be recognized in the community that gave him the opportunity to reach a high level.

Sutherland was not able to attend the gala but did appear via video conference to accept the induction.

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2019 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc